Showing 292 results

Authority record
Ahmad family
Family · 1937-

Khwaja Gulzar (Gus) Ahmad was born to Ghulam and Zebunnisa Samadani in 1937 in Punjab in what was then India but would become the Punjab province of Pakistan after the creation of Pakistan in 1947. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Karachi in 1962 before working for the Geological Survey of Pakistan as a geologist until 1967.

Gus Ahmad moved to Edmonton, Alberta in 1967 to attend the University of Alberta as a graduate student in the Department of Geology. He earned a Master of Science degree in 1969 before returning to Pakistan to marry Azra Jilani. Azra was born in Lahore, Pakistan in 1947 to Ghulam and Fatima Jilani.

Gus and Azra Ahmad then immigrated to Canada and permanently settled in Edmonton where they opened a restaurant before Gus started work as a stock broker with the Midland Doherty brokerage firm in 1971. In 1988, he began work in the personal financial planning and investment advisory field until retiring in 2015.

Gus and Azra Ahmad have a long history of community service. Prior to the founding of Islamic schools in Alberta, the Ahmads founded the Crescent Education Society in 1975, an Islamic Sunday school, which they operated until 1990. Azra was also a founding member of the Islamic Family and Social Services Association (IFSSA), which was created in 1992 to assist Bosnian refugees transition to life in Alberta. The IFSSA continues to operate as a social assistance agency for recent immigrants.

Gus and Azra have also been founding members of the Children of Islamic Nations charity (founded in 1981), the Federation of Canadian Visible Minorities (founded in 1987), and the Human Development Foundation of North America, a charity founded in 2005 to assist in the development of rural Pakistan. In addition to this service, Gus has also served on the Senate of the University of Alberta from 1991 to 1997, the Faculty of Arts Development Council of the University of Alberta from 1998 to 2001, the Community Services Advisory Board of the City of Edmonton from 2001 to 2007, the Alberta Family and Community Support Services Association as a representative of the City of Edmonton from 2002 to 2007, and as a public member on the governing body of the College of Alberta Dental Assistants from 2009 to 2012.

Gus and Azra Ahmad had three children: Ambreen (born 1970), Sumreen (born 1975), and Zeshen (born 1976).

Albers family
Family

The Albers family in the Wetaskiwin area belongs to the Swedish ethnic group called Svenskbybo-people (meaning the “Swedish Village People”). Several members of this same ancestral group settled in central-eastern Alberta in the early 1900s and joined the Lutheran Church of the Augustana Synod.

The Svenskbybo-people left Sweden around 1300 for the island of Dago, in the Baltic Sea, where they lived as farmers and fishers for about 500 years. The island was under Swedish ownership from 1563 to 1710. The Russians conquered Dago in 1710 and about in 1781 the Russian authorities forced the Svenskbybo-people to wander through Russia and to settle in a place called Gammalsvenskby (meaning “Old Swedish Village”) in Ukraine, near the Black Sea. It was a five month journey of more than 2,000 kilometres which took place in winter. Only about 500 out of the 1,200 people who started out from Dago survived this long trip.

Primitive living facilities and diseases decimated even more the Svenskbybo-people who by 1795 were only 135 persons remaining in the village according to a church register. However after a few decades of tough life as settlers in a new land, during the 1820s the population of Gammalsvenskby grew and life became more comfortable for the Svenskbybo-people who learned new methods of agriculture from their German neighbours. At the end of the 19th century the Svenskbybo-people started to look for additional land and several families decided to come to Canada.

The first Svenskbybo-people settled in British Columbia in 1888 and soon after other families came to Alberta which was called Nya Sverige or New Sweden. The immigration to Canada, where land was available, was ongoing for 25 years. Most Svenskbybo-people worked on farms and managed to maintain their culture for a few decades. The Albers family genealogy shows the transition from Swedish culture to Canadian culture and also the historical link between Gammalsvenskby in Russia and Swedish communities in Alberta.

Aldridge family
Family

Oliver Aldridge was born September 24, 1885 in Garden City, Utah, the son of William and Annie (Rolph) Aldridge. The Aldridge family moved to Cardston, Alberta in 1888. Before long they moved near to the Milk River, and in 1896, the family moved to Waterton Lakes.

The following year, Oliver and his father discovered oil near Cameron Creek; this was reputedly the first oil discovered in Alberta, and they sold it in bottles to Cardston district residents. The family moved to this site, which became known as Oil City; Alberta's first oil well was drilled at this site. Before long, the family moved back to Cardston.

In approximately 1901, Oliver moved to Nelson, British Columbia to work, and while there learned to be a steam engineer. Oliver returned to Cardston and worked as a steam engineer for almost fifty years. Oliver married Rachel Anderson on July 13, 1911 in Cardston; they had three children, Oliver, Margaret and Lawrence.

Oliver Aldridge died November 28, 1960 in Cardston.

Allan, J.A and Eloise
Family

James Alexander (Alex) Allan (1916-1998) married Eloise Moore (1921-1999) in 1956; Eloise was the daughter of Ora B. and Erma May (Sutton) Moore. Before marrying, Eloise was a member of Beta Sigma Phi's Iota Chapter, Xi Epsilon Chapter and an advisor to Beta Chapter's Nu Phi Mu unit. As well, she was secretary of the Fort Edmonton Chapter of the Ancient, Mystical Order Rosae Crucis (AMORC). Alex and Eloise had one son James, born circa (ca.) 1958.

Alex worked for Calgary Power Limited, possibly for a time at Wabamun, Alberta. Between 1967 and 1970, Alex served as a councilor for the Summer Village of Lakeview, and between 1970 and 1973 shared the duties of mayor of the Summer Village of Lakeview with Gordon Raitt.

Family

Bertil (Bert) Andreas Anderson was born to Erik and Agnes Anderson on May 2, 1908 in Sweden. In 1929, Bert immigrated to Canada to work on his Uncle Axel Anderson's farm, near Arrowwood, Alberta. From ca. 1952, Bert drove trucks and lived in Edmonton, Alberta. In 1958, Bert married Wilhelmina (Minnie) Burchert, neé Hiller. In ca. 1960, Bert owned a trucking business, Bert A. Anderson Trucking, based in Edmonton. Bert died on February 19, 2004.

Wilhelmina (Minnie) Hiller was born October 13, 1911 to Gustave and Ernestine Hiller. Gustave arrived in Canada in 1890, and filed for a homestead in the White Mud area of the North West Territories. In 1892, Gustave married Ernestine Falkenburg. They had six children: Daniel, Robert, Martha, William, Minnie and Benjamin. In 1915, the family, excepting Daniel, moved to Prince George, British Columbia, but Robert returned to Alberta in 1916. Minnie married Dan Burchert on July 1, 1936; they lived near Leduc in the Sprucedale district, of Alberta until Dan's death in 1955. Millie moved to Edmonton, and married Bert in 1958. She died September 21, 2001.

Martha Hiller married Curtis Campbelll on October 28, 1928. They lived in Prince George, British Columbia. They had four children: Murray, Allan, Shirley, and Betty. Martha died on September 23, 1993.

Dan Burchert was born May 10, 1913 and died on February 19, 1955. He worked as an Engineer while living with Minnie in the Sprucedale district of Alberta.

Axel William Anderson was born October 8, 1893 in Ryd, Krononberg County, Sweden. In 1914, he immigrated to the United States, and worked briefly in Chicago, Illinois; Oakland, California; and Portland, Oregon. In 1919, he joined his brother, Adolph Anderson, to work on his farm near Scandia, Alberta, and in 1925 he purchased land in Benalta, near Red Deer, Alberta. Following this purchase, he and Adolph purchased land near Arrowwood, Alberta in 1928. Axel retired from farming in 1964, to live with Bert and Minnie in Edmonton, then lived singly for a period, but eventually returned to live with Bert and Minnie. Axel died on December 17, 1982.

Family

Brothers Brian E. and Donald G. Baker were co-owners of Century III Productions, a British Columbia based production company, which was in existence from 1976 to 1977. This company was replaced by Baker-Wilks Productions, an Ontario based production company which was in existence from 1977 to 1978. Baker-Wilks was owned by the Baker brothers and Wendall Wilks.

Both companies had substantial involvement with Alberta talent and production, including people such as Tommy Banks. The companies were involved in television production of music variety programs.; The major production in this fonds, "Celebrity Revue", for which Tommy Banks was Musical Director, was produced by Century III Productions. The other productions, "Live at the Forum", "Michel LeGrand and Friends", "Super Specials", and "Star Wars" were produced by Baker-Wilks Productions.

Baltzan family
Family

Jacob A. Baltzen was born in Leova, Bessarabia in 1873. After serving in the Russian Army, he immigrated to New York in 1904. After a year, he and his wife, Hinda Baltzan (neé Gerschobitz) and their daughters, Katie and Tosha, moved to New York. From New York, the family moved to a pioneer colony near Lipton, Saskatchewan. The family homesteaded until 1908. After Lipton, the family moved to Govan, Saskatchewan before settling in Edmonton, Alberta in 1911.

In Edmonton Jacob partnered with Mr. M. Lurie to own and operate a furniture store located at 101 St and Jasper Ave. Jacob and Hinda participated in many Jewish community and organizations in Edmonton. In 1920, Hinda helped found the Ladies Chevra Kadisha, and in 1923, Hinda helped found the Mother's Auxiliary of the Talmud Torah. She also served as the first President of the Auxiliary, and held membership with the Ladies Aid Society of the Council of Jewish Women. In 1923, Jacob became Chair of the Talmud Torah Committee. In 1927, Jacob established the Hebrew Loan Association. In 1928, Jacob was made an Honorary Executive Member of the Beth Israel congregation. Jacob Baltzan died in 1939. Hinda passed away at the age of 98.

In 1913, Hy Baltzan was born in Edmonton, Alberta to Jacob and Hinda. Hy also participated in numerous Jewish community organizations in Edmonton. He served as President of the B'nai Brith Lodge 732 and the Jewish Community Council. He also served as national and regional vice-president of the Canadian Jewish Congress, and held membership with the United Jewish Appeal Board of Directors, the Beth Shalom Building Committee, the Jewish Senior Citizen's Drop-in Centre, the Community Council of Archives and Historical Committee, and the Hillcrest Planning Committee. Negrev Dinner Honouree in 1976, Hy died on June 2, 2006, survived by his wife of 68 years, Celia.

Barford family
Family

Vernon W. Barford was born September 10, 1876 in Berkshire, England and came to Edmonton, Alberta on January 15, 1900. He was married to Agnes Lynch who had come from Winnipeg in 1902 to run a kindergarten in Edmonton. Together they had four children; Thomas, James, John (Jack), and Marjorie. Vernon Barford was a piano teacher, music arranger, composer, and the organist and choirmaster of the All Saints' Anglican Cathedral in Edmonton. He was predeceased by his wife in 1955, and died himself on April 22, 1963.

John C. (Jack) Barford, son of Vernon and Agnes, was born on December 22, 1908 in Edmonton. In 1928 he went to Fort McMurray, Alberta as an employee of the Hudson's Bay Company where he remained for three years until joining the Royal Canadian Mounted Police (RCMP), for whom he worked until 1952. In 1970 he became a deacon in the Anglican Church of Canada. Marjorie Barker is the godmother of John C. (Jack) Barford. She was a schoolteacher in Edmonton ca.1893.

Kenneth Alexander (K.A) Blatchford, father-in-law of John C. (Jack) Barford, was born in Minnesoda, Manitoba, March 5, 1882, to Peter and Margaret (nee Murchison) Blatchford. He came to Edmonton in the 1890s and later became Mayor of Edmonton from 1924-1926. He married Grace Lauder Walker on December 19, 1904, and together they had two sons and one daughter. After losing an election in November 1932, Mr. Blatchford suffered a nervous breakdown and took his own life. His body was found in the North Saskatchewan River on April 22, 1933.

Barker family
Family

As a young man, Guy Barker (1873-1953) farmed in Des Moines, Iowa. In ca. 1909, Guy Barker responded to Canadian Pacific Railroad advertisement calling for land agents. Barker traveled to Canada from Iowa, and began homesteading near Provost, Alberta at Section 5, Township 39, Range 2, West of the 4th Meridian (5-39-2-W4). He began working his land in Alberta in 1916. He produced wheat, oats, rye, flax, and raised some farm animals for marketing and domestic use. In 1918, Barker's family came to live on the farm, living on a property named "Rhino". Barker's family consisted of his wife, Cora Garlock Barker (1873-1953), and children: Lucile (Kane) (1902-1999), Alice, Amandalee (b.1908), Roger (b. 1903), and Guy Jr. The family remained on the land until 1922 and later moved to California.

Amandalee Barker (Knoles) graduated from Palo Alto High School in 1926. In 1930, Amandalee married George H. Knoles, and earned a Bachelor's Degree from the College of the Pacific in Stockton, California, in 1930. The Knowles moved to Palo Alto in 1935 while George finished his graduate work at Stanford and began teaching in the History Department. Amandalee worked as a schoolteacher and administrator from 1943 to 1956. Amandalee founded the Palo Alto Co-Op and served as president of the Stanford Faculty Women's Club in 1954. She held membership with the Stanford Historical Society, the Cantor Arts Center and the Associates of the Stanford University Libraries. Amandalee passed away in 2004.

Roger G. Barker received his education at Stanford University and attained his Ph.D. in 1934. He taught at the University of Iowa, Harvard University, the University of Illinois, Clark University, and Stanford. He joined the faculty at the University of Kansas and chaired the psychology department until his retirement in 1971. Roger is regarded as the founder of environmental psychology. Roger passed away in 1990.

Bechtold family
Family

Alexander (Alex) (1885-1966) and Katharina (Katie) (Schaubert) Bechtold (1886-1973) left Crimea, Russia in 1910, four days after the birth of their first child, George. They traveled to Irvine, Alberta, where some relatives had already settled. Alex and Katie homesteaded in Section 21, Township 12, Range 2, West of the 4th Meridian (21-12-2-W4), five miles north and east of Irvine.

Their children included: George, Emma (Reimche) (1912-2008), Ida (1915-2003), Anne (Schulz) (1917-2007), Sylvia, Elly, Ethel, Fred (1927-1979), Irvine and Roy. In about 1951, Katie and Alex moved to the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia, to be near to their son. Alex died in 1966 and Katie died in 1973.

Belcourt family
Family

On June 30, 1946, the Belcourt family of Canada held a reunion in Midland, Ontario to celebrate their third centennial. On the occasion a genealogy of the family, written by R.P. Guillaumme Belcourt, was produced for all family members.

The fifty-four page book chronicles the Belcourt family history, beginning in 1646 when Jules Trottier, the first Belcourt ancestor in North America, emigrated from France. Jules lived under the name Trottier until his death, but his children chose other names, one of which included Bellecour. Later the name would be changed to Belcourt, the name that has existed to this day.

Benesch, Minnell and William
Family

William Benesch was born in Leberec, Austria-Hungary (now the Czech Republic) in 1901, the son of Adolph Benes (Benesch) (1875-1925) and Anselma Kuehnel (1877-1928). The family emigrated to Canada in 1912, settling in Edmonton, Alberta by 1916.

He married Minnell Thompson (1905-1982) in Edmonton in 1929. They lived in Wildwood, Alberta but were living in Fanny Bay, British Columbia by 1970. William died in British Columbia in 1984.

Bennett, O'Neill family
Family

Gordon Bennett (1909-1994) was born in Fort Macleod, Alberta, the son of Frederick Bennett (1872-1944) and Victoria Emerton (1872-1911). His siblings included Louisa (1902-1920) and Howard (1907-1965).

Gordon married Kathleen O'Neill (1908-2001) in Drumheller in 1935. Kathleen was the daughter of William O'Neill (1880-1946) and Mary Carroll (1878-1948), and her siblings included Florence Vivian (later known as Sister Ursula O"Neill) (1904-1991), Beatrice (Munro) (1905-2003), and Christine (Miller) (1910-1988).

The families lived Bankview and Drumheller but later moved to Edmonton and Calgary. Gordon and Kathleen lived in Edmonton and had three children: Barbara (Turnbull), Richard, and Ursula (Buchanan).

Bérubé family
Family

Pierre (Pete) Bérubé was born on July 28, 1877 in St. Pierre Baptiste, Quebec, the son of Aristobule Bérubé and Marie Lambert. After working for a brief time in Maine, Pierre visited his uncle Anicet Bérubé, who was homesteading just south of Beaumont, Alberta.

Pierre arrived in Strathcona, North-West Territories in April 1899. Pierre eventually bought a farm just west of Beaumont from his uncle. He married Emma Bérubé, Anicet's daughter, on January 29, 1900; they had nineteen children, three of whom died in infancy.

In 1905, Pierre bought land in Strathcona, along Whyte Avenue, where he built a livery stable (the White Star Livery Stable), a restaurant and a house. In 1909, he bought a farm north of Beaumont, building a large family home there in 1912. Shortly afterward, he built a large barn, which allowed him to start a dairy business. Pierre bought and sold many properties over the years, and raised a variety of animals, including horses and foxes. Emma died October 11, 1957. Pierre remarried, to Françoise Fontaine-Leblanc on November 29, 1958.

After a heart attack in 1963, Pierre retired and moved to Edmonton, Alberta. He died April 8, 1971.

Biollo family
Family

O.J. Biollo, known usually as Olivo John Biollo, but also as Oliver John Biollo, Olive J. Biollo, Oliver Joseph Biollo, Oliver J.P. Biollo, Olive J.P. Biollo, Olive Joseph Peter Biollo, John Oliver Biollo, O. Joseph Biollo, Joseph Biollo, J.O. Billos, Joseph O. Billos, and Giuseppe Billos, was born in the province of Venice, Italy on May 27, 1883 to Giuseppe and Valentina Biollo (nee Carraro). He attended an agricultural college in Padua, Italy, and in 1902 immigrated to Canada as a prospective employee of the Canadian Pacific Railway (CPR).

He worked off his commitment to the CPR as a labourer on the Transcontinental Railway line and then moved to Winnipeg, Manitoba where he joined a partnership to acquire the Savoy Hotel. Biollo brought two of his brothers, Angelo and Sante, to Winnipeg and the brothers all worked in the Savoy Hotel. Biollo became a Canadian citizen on July 3, 1905 and on September 10, 1907 he married Annie D'Mitruzinski. Together they had ten children, Valentina, Florence, Oliver Mike, Mary, Arthur, Fidelia, David, Valentino, Gloria, and Gilbert.

In 1910 the Biollo family moved to Rivers, Manitoba, and in 1911 to Edmonton, Alberta. Biollo purchased a store in Edmonton, and operated a theatre called The Family Theatre. He was a member and president of the The Venice Club, later known as The Italian Society, and was an organizer of The Italian Society's drive to establish western Canada's first Italian colony in the Venice and Hylo, Alberta area in 1914. Biollo obtained a homestead in Venice located at Section 12, Township 66, Range 15, West of the 4th Meridian (12-66-15-W4) in 1914 and also operated a general store known as Mercantile Company Limited (Ltd.). Biollo's wife and children joined him in Venice in 1915 and over the years the family lived variously in Venice and Edmonton, Alberta.

In 1925 Biollo served as a District Returning Officer (DR) during the provincial election, and was sentenced to a term in Prince Albert penitentiary for his part in the Athabasca electoral riding scandal.

Biollo was very active in his community and served as secretary-treasurer of the Venice School District Number (No.) 4102, postmaster of the Venice Post Office, Justice of the Peace and Commissioner of Oaths. He also worked with the Italian Consulate on behalf of many of the residents in the Venice district, organizing relief for them and helping with immigration difficulties. The Venice United Farmers of Alberta (UFA) Co-operative Local was operated out of the Mercantile Company Limited, and Biollo was a sub-agent for the Cunard White Star and Anchor-Donaldson ship lines. He also worked as a contractor for Northern Alberta Railways (NAR) and for the Alberta and Canadian governments in various capacities, including foreman of Local Improvement District No. 635, Treasury Branch agent, Alberta Government Telephones (AGT) agent, sub-agent for the Department of Lands and Mines, and crop correspondent for the Dominion Bureau of Statistics.

As Biollo was a member of The Italian Society, he was interned in October 1940 at Camp Kananaskis in Seebe, Alberta and Camp Petawawa in Ontario. He was released in September 1941 and he returned to Venice, Alberta. He left Venice, Alberta in 1943 and moved to Edmonton where he worked as a night clerk at the Ritz Hotel, leaving his wife, Annie, to operate the store. Biollo returned to Venice in 1953 to operate the store himself, but was unsuccessful, and returned to Edmonton for good in 1954. He died on May 27, 1963, survived by his wife, Annie.

Annie D'Mitruzinski, also known as Annie Dmytrusznski and Anne Dmytrusznski, was born on July 5, 1891 in Czerwonograd, Poland to Michael and Victoria D'Mitruzinski (nee Konska). The D'Mitruzinski family immigrated to Canada in 1899. Annie D'Mitruzinski married O.J. Biollo in on September 10, 1907. She operated the family store with her husband, served as postmistress in the Venice Post Office for a time, and was a midwife in the district of Venice. In 1927 she moved to Edmonton, Alberta with some of the children to operate the store the Biollo's owned there at 96th Street and 98th Avenue, but the family business closed and in July 1928 she and the children returned to Venice. Annie Biollo died on May 21, 1967, predeceased by her husband.

Oliver Mike Biollo (1912-1994) moved to Venice, Alberta with his mother in 1915. He attended school at the Lac La Biche Mission and Venice School District No. 4102 and ca. 1924 he began working on the Biollo homestead. In 1937 he married Ginsella Michetti and in 1941 he began to farm his own land. In 1946 he bought some acreage from his father, and in 1967 was still living on the farm.

Arthur Biollo (1919-1998) married Eleanor St. Jean in 1940 and together they had six children, Delores, Valerie, Brian, Debbie, Colin, and Darryl. The family lived in the Biollo log house after O.J. Biollo moved to Edmonton, Alberta, and farmed in the area.

Mary Nell Biollo (1915-2012) received her schooling at Lac La Biche Mission, Venice School District No. 4102, and a high school in Edmonton, Alberta. She attended Normal School in Calgary and taught for a year at Christy Creek School District No. 4621, twelve years at Venice School District No. 4102, three years at Trieste School District No. 4101 (also known as Hylo School District No. 4101), and twenty-two years at various other schools in the province. She married Julius Keehn in 1936 and together they had two sons, Charles and Lin. She acquired her Bachelor of Education degree in 1962, a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1967, and a diploma in Elementary Education, specializing in remedial reading and language, in 1971. She retired in December 1973 and in 1977 she married Bertram Doyle. She retired to Edmonton, Alberta.

Bishop, Charles and Myrtle
Family

Charles Fraser Bishop was born in Moncton, New Brunswick in 1890. In Westmoreland, New Brunswick in 1912, he married Myrtle Steeves; she was born in 1895 in Berry Mills, New Brurnswick. Together they had two children: Kenneth (1923-1957) and Ruth (Kirkby) (1920-2003)

They came to Edmonton, Alberta from New Brunswick in 1912. While in Edmonton, Charles worked for the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway and the Canadian National Railway. He also was employed as a carpenter on many building projects in the city. They likely left Edmonton in the early 1930s.

By 1946, they were living in New Westminster, British Columbia. Charles died in Vancouver, British Columbia in 1973. Myrtle died there in 1994.

Blank family
Family

Richard Blank moved to Canada from Kanstad, Germany in 1909. Blank worked on a farm in Viking, Alberta for about three years before moving to Junkins, or Wildwood as it is known today. Blank began homesteading and in 1914 his wife Louise came to Canada to join him. At this time Richard Blank was working for the Canadian National Railway. In 1923 Richard and Louise Blank left their homestead and bought a farm. Louise Blank died in October 1955 at the age of 74 and Richard Blank died in November 1964 at the age of 85.

Borgwardt family
Family

Henry Borgwardt (1855-1918) and his wife Caroline (nee Wiese) (1857-1939) immigrated to Canada from Germany circa (ca.) 1888 and acquired a homestead located at Section 20, Township 54, Range 23, West of the 4th Meridian (20-54-23-W4) near Horse Hills, Alberta. They had five children: Annie (1880-1959), Charles (1891-1980), Emma (Sharp) (1888-1969), Minnie (1896-1908) and William (Bill) (1894-1984)

Bowen family
Family

John Campbell Bowen was born October 3, 1872 in the Osgoode Township of Ontario to Peter Bowen and Margaret Poapst; he grew up in Ottawa, Ontario. He studied at Brandon College, in Brandon, Manitoba, where he graduated with a degree in theology in 1904, and McMaster University, in Hamilton, Ontario.

While at McMaster, he met Edith Oliver, who was attending Moulton Ladies College in Toronto, Ontario; she was the daughter of Reverend George Lesley Oliver and Margaret McIntyre Oliver. John and Edith were married on October 25, 1906 in St. Mary's, Ontario. They had two daughters, Margaret Gwendolyn and Emma Ruth.

John was an ordained Baptist minister, whose pastorates included Dauphin, Manitoba; Strathcona Baptist Church in Edmonton, Alberta; and Broadway Baptist Church in Winnipeg, Manitoba. He then became the secretary to the Education Committee of the Baptist Union of Western Canada. Returning to Edmonton in 1912, he entered the life insurance business with Mutual Life Assurance Company of Canada. During the First World War, he served as a chaplain for the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

He was elected to Edmonton City Council in 1920 and 1921. He was a Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from 1921 until 1926, and was the Liberal house leader in 1926. John unsuccessfully ran for Edmonton mayor in 1928. He was appointed Lieutenant Governor of Alberta by Lord Tweedsmuir, Governor General of Canada on the advice of Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King, effective March 23, 1937. In 1939 he received an Honorary Doctor of Laws degree from the University of Alberta. He resigned as Lieutenant Governor in 1950 for medical reasons.

John C. Bowen died on January 2, 1957, at Edmonton, Alberta. Mrs. Bowen died February 20, 1975. Ruth moved to Victoria following her mother's death and died there in 1996.

Bradden family
Family

William Thomas Bradden (1878-1944) was born in South Hornsey, Middlesex, England. He served in the Boer War before coming to Canada in 1903.

He married Alice Gertrude Harrison (1874-1962) in Strathcona, Alberta in 1906, and together they had three children: Annie Oprah Coralie (Longbottom) (1907-1997), Charlotte (1909-1909) and Florence (1909-1913).

In 1907, William started work for the City of Strathcona as a power engineer and transferred to the City of Edmonton when the two cities amalgamated in 1912. He retired in 1944.

Bradley, Elsie and William
Family

Mr. William Bradley and Mrs. Elsie Bradley lived in Blairmore, Alberta in 1972.

Brimacombe family
Family

The Brimacombe presence in Vermilion, Alberta began in 1902 when Matt Brimacombe immigrated to the area from England. At that time, the settlement was called Breage and was located a few miles east of the present town site of Vermilion.

Matt Brimacombe became the postmaster of Breage and his brothers, John and George (Judd) Brimacombe, joined him in 1905. In the same year, the Breage settlement was re-located closer to the rail line and was renamed Vermilion. In the early years of the Vermilion township, the Brimacombe brothers were joined by their sisters (Elizabeth Kibblewhite and Maude Calvert) who arrived from England.

Matt Brimacombe was elected overseer of the village of Vermilion and when the burgeoning settlement was re-incorporated as a town in 1906, Matt was elected as the first mayor. He was subsequently re-elected to the position in 1907, 1908, and 1913. Matt Brimacombe also served on the town council in 1911-1912, 1916, 1921-1922, and 1925-1926. In between his public service, Matt also served in the Canadian Expeditionary Force during the First World War and continued as postmaster for the town of Vermilion for some time after the re-location. In later years, he became manager of the Alberta Government Liquor Store in Vermilion.

In addition to these accomplishments, Matt Brimacombe was the leader of the First Church choir, bandmaster, and a member of the local drama society. He also was a founding member of the Vermilion Masonic Lodge in 1906. Within this organization, he provided space for early meetings, was the first Senior Warden, and the first Vermilion member to hold a position within the Grand Lodge of Alberta as Grand Steward. Matt was also a member of the Canadian Legion and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. Matt died in 1939.

While Matt engaged in town governance, John and Judd entered commerce and helped build the economic life of the settlement. John and Judd formed a partnership and established The Brimacombe Brothers Book and Stationary Store. John would operate this business for many decades, finally retiring in 1946.

John Brimacombe, like his brother Matt, took an active role in Vermilion public life. He was particularly active with the Horticultural Society and the Masonic Lodge as well as being a member of the fire brigade, including during the 1918 fire that destroyed much of the Vermilion business section. John died in 1965.

John Brimacombe married Ella Stewart in 1908 and the couple had three sons: Stewart, Matthew, and Edward. Judd married Clara Plante in 1910 and they had five sons: Marwood, Gilbert, Frederick, Geoff, and Douglas. Of the eight sons of John and Judd, six became teachers and later, six enlisted in the Royal Canadian Air Force during the Second World War. John's son, Matthew, gathered a notable collection of Indigenous beadwork.

Brooks family
Family

John Brooks, his wife, and their daughter, Marie, lived in Botha, Alberta between 1910- 1937. Their homestead was located at Section 24, Township 38, Range 18, West of the 4th Meridian (24-38-18-W4).

Brown family
Family

William Brown was born May 11, 1859 in Dumbarton, Scotland; he was the son of Alexander and Janet (Watt) Brown. He married Annie Graham (1864-1955) on May 30, 1885 in Dumbarton. Their children included Janet Watt Brown (Rault) (1886-1943), Agnes (Campbell) (1888-1985), Ann (Nancy) Graham (1894-1918), William, born September 19, 1897, and Mary, born November 10, 1898 (and likely died September 27, 1899).

The family emigrated from Scotland in 1908, coming directly to Edmonton, Alberta. William worked as a contractor. He and William Hargrave operated Brown and Hargrave, general contractors who were responsible for the construction of the Princess Theatre and John A. McDougall School. William was also involved in the construction of First Presbyterian Church, the Leland Hotel, and the Qu'Appelle building. He was the proprietor of William Brown General Construction. He retired in 1928.

William died in Edmonton on November 17, 1935, survived by his son William Brown, and daughters Mrs. J. Campbell and Mrs. M. Rault.

Caley, English family
Family

Rutherford Gilbert Caley was born in the United States in 1900. He served in the United States Army in World War I and World War II, serving in the latter as a Lieutenant Colonel in the US Army Corps of Engineers on the Canol project. He married Gertrude English, daughter of Robert and Gertrude English, in 1944, and together they had two children, Timothy and Michael. After World War II he worked for the British-American Oil Company in Toronto.

Robert English was born on January 5, 1884 in Sunderland, England to John and Jane Ann English. He was educated at Bede Collegiate and on December 19, 1905, shortly after his graduation, he married Gertrude Atkinson. Together they had three children, two sons, John and Robert, and one daughter, Gertrude. In 1909 the family moved to Canada, settling in Alberta, and English became Clerk of the Police Court and Secretary to the May and City Commissioners of Edmonton. He resigned in 1921 and joined the Department of Municipal Affairs, rising from Inspector to Assistant Deputy Minister and, in 1931, to Deputy Minister.

English retired from this position in 1934 and was subsequently appointed to the Dominion government audit staff which handled relief accounts. He also acted as secretary to the Provincial Advisory Commission on Taxations, headed by Dr. H.M. Tory. In 1939 English served as the Secretary of the Royal Visit Receptions Committee and in 1943 was appointed Registrar of the Alberta Mobilization Board. In later years he served as a manufacturers' agent. English was also a member of various clubs and associations, servings as Past Master of the Masonic and Orange Orders, Past Monarch of the Kekan Grotto, and a member of the executive of the Edmonton West and Provincial Liberal associations. He died on December 22, 1956.

Campbell family
Family

John William (J.W.) Campbell was born in Halton, Ontario in 1889. He married Ruby Kilgour (1889-1980) in Stormont, Ontario in 1917, and together they had two children: Donald (1920-2002) and Elizabeth (Phelps).

The Campbells lived in Cornwall, Ontario; Winnipeg, Manitoba; and Iowa City, Iowa before settling in Edmonton, Alberta in 1920. At that time, John Campbell joined the Department of Mathematics at the University of Alberta as an associate professor. The family subsequently lived in Edmonton for the rest of their lives.

John died in Edmonton in 1955.

Chambers family
Family

The Chambers family were residents of the Wembley and Grande Prairie district. Dan W. Chambers was a successful farmer and businessman in the area. His son R. Ted Chambers was also involved in agriculture in the Wembley district.

Charles O. Anderson family
Family

Charles Oscar Anderson (Charlie) was born on March 24, 1870 in Geneseo, Illinois to parents Peter and Anna who had emigrated from Sweden. Both of his parents died in 1898, leaving Charlie to work on the family farm with his older brother Gust. In October 1902, Charlie left the family farm and claimed a homestead in Stavely, Alberta. From 1903 until 1911 he worked on his homestead.

On March 15, 1911 Charlie married Rebecca E. (Horne) Thompson and they had a daughter, Ruth Esther, on May 15, 1912. In 1914 Charlie and Rebecca ‘divorced' as it was discovered that she was still married to her first husband. Charlie married Rosa Helen Wales-Edward on May 23, 1917 and they had two sons: William (Billy) Wales-Edward on April 6, 1918 and Theodore Peter on June 17, 1921. Theodore died in 1925.

Charlie and Rosa were quite involved in their church life, primarily that of the Foursquare Gospel Church, an evangelical Pentecostal Christian denomination. In early 1927, Charlie and Rosa sold their farm equipment and leased out their farm so they could move to Los Angeles for most of a two year period to study at Angelus Temple Annex of the International Church of the Foursquare Gospel, under evangelist Amie Semple McPherson. In 1930, they moved back to the farm and Charlie farmed again from 1931-1938, this time with his son Billy.

Billy married Ruth Lofgren (born 1918) on November 9, 1939. After they married, they worked on the Anderson family farm until they purchased their own farm near Alix in 1940. They had four children: Frances Fay (born 1942), Marjorie Joyce (born 1944), Terrence William (born 1946), and Charles Edward (born 1953).

Charlie Anderson died on August 14, 1938 of ether-induced pneumonia following cancer surgery at the Mayo Clinic in Rochester, Minnesota. After Billy and Ruth left, Rosa continued to farm with the help of hired hand William Ronayne. Rosa and William eventually married on June 21, 1954. Rosa passed away on March 24, 1963 and Will continued to farm until 1970 when he moved to Ontario. In 1976, William passed away and the farm was sold.

Ruth died in Lacombe, Alberta in 2008 and Billy died in 2009.

Chernochan family
Family

Kosmer "Kosma" Chernochan (1888-1960) married Marie Mihalczian (1896-1963) in Pakan, Smoky Lake, Alberta in 1913 and began homesteading at SE 33-59-17 W4. The Chernochans had eight children, a partial list of whom include: Evakhiia (1914-1914), Anna (Lazaruk) (1916-?), Katrina (Brocato) (b. 1918), Sanda, Metro (b. 1921), and John (b. 1926).

Kosma operated the United Farmers Co. Ltd (The U.F.A. Store) in the Village of Smoky River. In 1919, the Chernochan family moved from the homestead to Smoky River and Kosma began working as a sales agent for Sawyer Massey selling farm equipment. While living in the Smoky Lake region, Kosma served as Commissioner for Oaths, a Justice of the Peace, and as Secretary Treasurer for the Municipal District of Smoky Lake.

In 1928, the Chernochans moved to Hairy Hill, Alberta where they purchased and operated a hotel. In 1937, the Family moved to Willingdon, Alberta, where Kosma worked as a cattle and hog seller. In 1938, Kosma and Marie moved to Edmonton and purchased the Astor House Hotel. While living in Edmonton, the Chernochans were members of the St. John Greek Orthodox Church.

Clarke family
Family

Thomas Clarke was born in 1864 in Harworth, Notts, England to William Clark and Sarah Tomilson. He married Sophereth "Sophia" Naomi Tremayne in Kingston, Jamaica in 1890. Sophereth was born in 1868 in Kingston to Henry Clinton Tremayne. Thomas and Sophereth had nine children: Gladys Selina Clark (1891-1956), Arthur Hermon Clarke (1893-1975), Ethel Sybil Clarke (1895-1978), Henry Rowland Clarke (1897-1979), Thomas "Tom Jr." Victor Tremayne Clarke (1902-1987), Helen Sophereth Tremayne Clarke (1905-1972), George Vivian Tremayne Clarke (1910-1974), and Stanley Charles Tremayne (1912-1989).

In 1914, the Clarke family, not including Arthur and Roland, moved to the Beaver district of Alberta, about six miles south of Alliance. In 1915, the family returned to England, but the Clarke family returned to the farm in 1918. Thomas Clarke Sr. died in 1926, and Tom Jr. and his brothers took over the farm. Sophia Clarke died in Edmonton in 1946.

In 1928, Tom Jr. purchased a farm east of Alliance. He worked on the farm, but moved to Vancouver to work as a longshoreman for a year. He returned to the Alliance area, but following a crop failure at Alliance, Tom returned to the Beaver district.

In 1935, Tom Clarke married Donalda Howlett. Donalda was born in 1913 in Edmonton. Donalda's parents had moved west from Clifford, Ontario. Her father worked in real estate and as a land developer. Donalda trained as a teacher, and taught for two yeas at Greeview School, and for one year at Happy Howe School. In 1935, Donalda left teaching to marry Tom. However, she returned to teaching at taught at the following schools: Knobb Hill (1942), Stettler (1949), Tinchebray (1950-1953), Fleet (1954-1962), Castor (1963-1975).

Donalda and Tom had ten children: Harry Wallace (1937), Charlotte ( 1938), Patricia (1938), Dave (1940), Dianne (1942), Linda (1944), Victor (1945), Brian (1947), Betty (1948), and Kathy (1950).

Côté family
Family

The Côté family's history in what is presently Alberta started when Jean Leon Côté began his career as a Dominion Land Surveyor in 1886. Since then, the Côté family has maintained a presence in Alberta, contributing to the legal system and political life of the province.

Cotter family
Family

Wemyss McKenzie Osborne Cotter was born January 27, 1871 to James Cotter, a Hudson's Bay Company trader. Wemyss married Charlotte Evaline Mason (b. 1870) of Toronto, Ontario in 1909 and they settled in Carlstadt, Alberta (previously known as Langevin and later known as Alderson) where Wemyss was working as postmaster.

Charlotte Cotter was Secretary of the Red Cross Membership Enrolment in Alderson and Wemyss Cotter was a member of the Upper Canada College Old Boys' Association and the National Geographic Society.

Wemyss Cotter died in Medicine Hat, Alberta on November 16, 1935. Charlotte later married John Denison (1868-1965) in 1943 and died in Medicine Hat, Alberta in 1965.

Family

Delphis and Marie-Claire Coulombe arrived in present-day Alberta from Québec in 1901 to homestead. Delphis was born in Quebec in 1874 to Ferdinand Coulombe and Julie Clarisse Caron. He married Marie-Claire Gagné in 1895 in St. Edouard, Quebec.

Accompanied by their three children, Cécile, François, and Dominique, they settled on a homestead near present day Legal. They would have three more children, Emile, Marguerite, and André, after arriving in Alberta. Delphis and Marie-Claire lived in Legal, where they remained active in their community and parish until their deaths in 1959 and 1960, respectively.

Emilien Coulombe is the oldest son of Dominique Coulombe and Florida Messier, born at Legal in 1923. He was part of the Canadian Army between 1942 and 1946. After the war he came back to farm in Legal, and in 1948 he married Rollande Rivet and they had four children: Louise (1949), Lorraine (1953), Cécile (1959) and Denis (1962). Emilien was secretary-treasurer for the St. Emile School District No. 1443 in Legal. Emilien and Rollande left Legal in 1988 to retire in St. Albert. Rollande Coulombe died February 5, 2013.

Family

Délphis et Marie-Claire Coulombe sont venus du Québec pour s'installer dans l'Alberta actuelle en 1901. Delphis naquit en 1874 au Québec, fils de Ferdinand Coulombe et Julie Clarisse Caron. Il épousa Marie-Claire Gagné en 1895 à Saint-Edouard, Québec. Accompagnés de leurs trois enfants, Cécile, François et Dominique, ils ont démarré une ferme près de Legal. Trois autres enfants sont nés en Alberta (Émile, Marguerite et André). Délphis et Marie-Claire Coulombe ont demeuré à Legal, où ils sont restés actifs dans leur communauté et dans leur paroisse jusqu'à leur mort, en 1959 et 1960, respectivement.
Emilien Coulombe est l'aîné de Dominique Coulombe et de Florida Messier, né à Legal en 1923. Il faisait partie de l'Armée canadienne entre 1942 et 1946. Après la guerre, il est de retour sur une ferme à Legal. En 1948 il épousa Rollande Rivet et ils ont eu quatre enfants : Louise (1949), Lorraine (1953), Cécile (1959) et Denis (1962). Emilien fut secrétaire-trésorier pour le district scolaire St. Emile no. 1443 à Legal. Emilien et Rollande ont quitté Legal en 1988 pour prendre leur retraite à Saint-Albert. Rollande Coulombe est décédée le 5 février 2013.

Cruickshank family
Family

Jenny Cruickshank (nee McLellan) was born in Motherwell, Scotland around 1891. She served in the British Women's Army Auxiliary Corps from April 1917 until September 1919 working as a clerk in the office of the Director of Roads, Director General of Transport Headquarters at Monthius, near Etaples, France. She moved to Canada on December 3, 1921.

William Cruickshank was born in Banffshire and came to Canada before 1914. He worked for the Canadian Pacific Railway as a blacksmith before joining the Royal Canadian Engineers on November 4, 1915 in Vancouver, British Columbia. He served in France and was discharged on March 6, 1919. He returned to Edmonton after the war and found work in construction. Later he spent eleven years working for the City of Edmonton.

Curtis family
Family

James (1873-1912) and Theresa (Watson) Curtis, originally from Carleton Place, Ontario, came to Vermillion, Alberta in 1908 and homesteaded southeast of Vermillion for four years. They had three children: Hubert Boyd (1903-1981), Iva Margaret (1905-1985), and Eleanor Isabelle (d. 1982)

Dargis family
Family

Albert Joseph-Amédée Dargis was born in 1885 in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and came with his parents and sister (Mme Hormidas Boisvert) to Beaumont, Alberta, in 1895. In 1907 he left Beaumont to explore the region of Moose Lake (Lac d'Orignal) and he chose a land on the shores of the former Lac des Deux Iles, renamed later Lake Jessie, where the community of Bonnyville developed subsequently. Albert Dargis was very involved in his local community. He was the first mayor of the town, served on the city board and school board, and was designated Justice of the Peace. Albert Dargis died in 1968.

Pamela Joséphine Vézeau was born March 18, 1887. She married Albert Dargis on September 26, 1910 at Saint-Paul-des Métis, Alberta, and later the couple settled in Bonnyville. Albert and Pamela had 14 children: Joseph (1911-1911), Alice (Frechette) (1912-1975), Laura (Rondeau) (1913-1990), Irène (Rondeau) (1915-1990), Isabelle (1916-2006), Raymond (1918-1943), Flore (Sœur Claire) (1919-2004), Julien (1921-1970), Gustave (1923-2006), Cécile (Rondeau) (1925-2012), Henriette (Davis) (1927-2018), Lorraine (Sexsmith) (1930-?), Anne-Marie (Regimbald) (1931-2022), and André (1932-?). Pamela died in 1957.

Anne-Marie Dargis is the 13th child of Albert Dargis and Pamela Vézeau. Anne-Marie married Wilfrid Régimbald (1927-2017) in 1951, and together they had seven children. They lived in Legal for several years, then moved to Edmonton at the end of the 1950s. She died in 2022.

Davidson family
Family

Isabella McLaughlin Smith and Adam James Davidson married in 1892 in Waterloo, Ontario. Adam was born to James B. Davidson and Jane Connon in Galt, Ontario in 1864. Isabella was born to Andrew Smith and Isabella McColl in 1865.

In 1910, Adam left Ontario and he and son, Louis, traveled to Hanna, Alberta to begin homesteading. Isabella and their four other children later followed. After homesteading, the family moved to Edmonton.

Adam began a real-estate company, Robertson-Davidson, with his brother in-law, George Robertson. The Robertson-Davidson Company purchased lots in the Beverly Heights area of Edmonton. After several years, Robertson sold his shares to Davidson and Davidson began the Beverly Coal and Gravel Co. in 1917 on their land. In 1928, Davidson leased the mine to Bush Mills Limited and began a dairy farm. In the 1930s, Davidson retired and his son, Gord, took over the dairy. By 1944, milk production topped 1,400 pounds per day.

Adam died in 1945, and Isabella died in 1949. The dairy pastures now form part of Rundle Park in Edmonton.

Deaville, Don and Shirley
Family

Donald (Don) Deaville was born in 1945, the son of Harold and Evangeline (Eva) (Sandford) Deaville (d. 1978). Harold had been born in Derbyshire, England and as a child had come to Canada in 1911 with his family after his father's death. The family settled in the Moyerton district of Alberta near Paradise Valley.

Donald attended Moyerton School, and then the Vermilion School of Agriculture, studying agricultural mechanics. He then worked in Edmonton, Alberta for International Harvester and later for Goodyear Tire.

In 1968 he married Shirley Bell of Edgerton, Alberta. Shirley was a registered lab technician at the University Hospital. In 1969 they moved to the original Gaunt brothers' homestead (known in 1968 as the Orvel Falgham farm) near Moyerton. Don and Shirley had four daughters: Shari Lyn (1970), Rhonda (1971), Andrea (1975), and Deanna (1976).

Don died in Lloydminster, Saskatchewan in 2019.

Demchuk family
Family

Mike and Ksenka Demchuk came to Canada in 1914 from the village of Klekotiv in the district of Brody, Ukraine, then part of the Austro-Hungarian Empire. The family settled near Lake Eliza, Alberta, at Section 33, Township 55, Range 8, West of the 4th Meridian (33-55-8-W4).

John Demchuk, son of Mike and Ksenka, operated a blacksmith shop in Myrnam, Alberta. He trained as a Blacksmith before immigrating to Canada. John married Annie Hlus (1898-1944) n 1917. They had a son, Bill (1919-2011) and a daughter, Florence (1931-2018). The family lived in a small house behind the blacksmith shop.

In 1984, the Government of Alberta acquired the blacksmith building, which now comprises part of the Ukrainian Cultural Heritage Village.

Dent family
Family

Leslie "Jimmy" Dent (1896-1993) was born in Bow, England. He enlisted in the Royal Flying Corps in 1914 and served in France from 1914-1918. He married Kathleen Minnie Fulks (1892-1994) in France in 1918. Together they had two children: Roger (1919-2008) and Gladys (1921-?).

The family immigrated to Canada, settling in Edmonton in 1922. The family was involved with veterans' groups, entertainment, and military service. Leslie worked for Canadian National Railways (CNR) and was a song and dance performer during the Second World War.

Leslie died in Edmonton in 1993, and Kathleen died in Edmonton in 1994.

Family

Maurice Destrubé (1885-1978) was born in London, England. His father, Ernest Destrubé, born 1850 in France, married Elizabeth (Lizzie) Farmery while working in London, England as a banker. They had six children between 1879 and 1893: Dan, Sylvie, Maurice, Georges, Guy and Paul.

While in England, Maurice worked as a bank clerk, but took six months leave to join his great uncle, Walter Kennedy, on his farm in Missouri to learn farming. After eleven months, he traveled to Alberta, and took up a homestead located between St. Paul, Alberta and Bonnyville, Alberta, an area now known as Rife, Alberta. His brothers Georges, Guy and Paul, soon joined him, and together they farmed and operated a number of trading posts as the Destrubé Brothers (Bros.)

The brothers held farms at: Section 8, Township 60, Range 7, West of the 4th Meridian (8-60-7-W4), Section 13, Township 60, Range 8, West of the 4th Meridian (13-60-8-W4), Section 12, Township 60, Range 8, West of the 4th Meridian (12-60-8-W4), Section 36, Township 60, Range 8, West of the 4th Meridian (36-60-8-W4), and Section 18, Township 60, Range 7, West of the 4th Meridian (18-60-7-W4).

On April 25, 1909, Maurice married Margaret (Maggie) Lebow (1885-1919), originally from Missouri; she died in April 1919. During the First World War, Maurice remained in Canada to run the farm while his three other brothers enlisted; Guy and Paul died in the war. In 1916, Maurice's cousin, Arthur Kennedy joined Maurice from Missouri. In 1920, in Vegreville, Alberta, Maurice married Pevensey (Pem) Wheeler (1876-1947) in Vegreville in 1920, and purchased a store in Hairy Hill, Alberta, but they eventually returned to Rife, Alberta.

They moved to Victoria, British Columbia, where Pem died in 1947, and Maurice subsequently lived with his sister and her husband. In Victoria he married Eleanor Mary Ellis (née Sandeman) (1900-1994) in March of 1950. Maurice died November 8, 1978.

Dixon family
Family

In the 1920's members of the Dixon Family of Ontario came to Alberta to work as hired hands for harvest.

Douglas family
Family

Howard Douglas was born in Halton District, Ontario in 1850. He was the son of Thomas Douglas, a farmer, and the oldest of four boys. Howard Douglas spent his boyhood and youth in the east. He married Alice Maud Johnston, the daughter of a ship captain, in Port Nelson, Ontario on October 11, 1872.

Around 1883 Douglas moved west to Manitoba and worked as a construction bridge foreman for the Canadian Pacific Railway. His wife Alice and their three children, Katie, Thomas and Roy joined him in 1885. In 1890, Alice and Howard's fourth child, Ralph Howard, was born in Calgary, Alberta.

In 1896 Howard Douglas was appointed superintendent of Banff National Park. He was promoted to Commissioner of National Parks in the West in 1911. During his term of office Jasper, Elk Island, Wainwright and Waterton Lake Parks were opened. Mount Douglas, west of Banff, was named in his honour. Douglas also arranged for the purchase and transfer of the Michael Pablo herd of buffalo from Montana, United States of America. When he retired from the Parks position in 1921 he was appointed the first moving picture censor for the Province of Alberta. He died in Edmonton on January 6, 1929.

Howard Douglas' youngest son, Ralph attended public school in Banff, Alberta and was sent to St. John's College in Winnipeg, Manitoba in 1903. In the fall of 1905 he attended the University of Toronto, School of Practical Science where he studied Civil and Mining Engineering. He graduated in 1909. In 1912 he married Brenda Newton and together they had two sons, C.H. and Arnold, and one daughter, Mary.

For many years Ralph Douglas worked as an Assistant Structural Engineer for the Department of Public Works. He resigned in 1921 to pursue private business but returned to government construction in 1937. In 1940 he joined the Royal Canadian Air Force and worked with the Works and Buildings Branch. When the war ended he was discharged with the rank of Flight Lieutenant. Douglas then joined Central Mortgage and Housing Corporation in 1945 and worked as the Edmonton Branch Manager. In 1955 he became the manager of a low rental housing project called Town House Development and remained in this position until his retirement in January 1965. Ralph Douglas died on December 25, 1966.

Downes family
Family · 1865-1940

George Francis Downes, son of George Charles and Cecilia Caroline Downes, was born on March 7, 1865 in Vienna, Ontario. George Francis completed his schooling in Vienna before moving on to Toronto to attend university. He attended the University of Toronto and Osgoode Hall. In 1891, he was called to the Ontario Bar.

In 1903, he moved west to Strathcona, Alberta and served as a notary public for the North-West Territories. He practiced law for the next three decades forming a variety of partnerships. From 1905 to 1907, he served as Secretary-Treasurer for the town of Strathcona replacing A.G. Rutherford. From 1908 to 1917, he served as the Police Magistrate for Strathcona.

In addition to his law practice, George Francis was involved in a number of business ventures and investments. He was also active in a number of local social and charitable organizations. He served as the first President of the Edmonton Horticultural Society. He also served as the President of the Edmonton Gun Club, Strathcona Curling Rink, and the Lawn Bowling Club. In 1908, George Frances married Mary Alice Frost (1878-1971). They had one son, George Frost Downes (1909-1991).

In 1930, George Francis fell ill and retired from his law practice. He died January 25, 1940.

Dron family
Family

Théodore Dron (1860-1947) emigrated from northern France with his wife, Léonie, and four children to homestead in the Clyde area of Alberta in 1908. Théodore's brothers, Gustave (1870-1942) and Henri, also came to join him in the area in 1909. Léonie died there in 1910 and Theodore moved to Tampa, Florida, in 1911.

Henri was a bachelor and returned to France in 1919. Gustave and his family ran a butchery around 1917, but they moved in Edmonton where they were still living in 1931.

Duthie family
Family

Richard Duthie (1848/1851-1922) was one of the original shareholders and managers of the Alberta Ranch Company when it was formed in 1882. He was an acquaintance of the Marquis of Lorne, Governor General of Canada, and son-in-law of Queen Victoria, who made the appointment.

Duthie was apprenticed at the Cochrane Ranch for one year and then went to Pincher Creek where the Company purchased the homestead of Moise La Grandeur for headquarters. Duthie established a cow-camp and the Company engaged in raising cattle and horses. The Alberta Ranch Company was liquidated in 1906 and Duthie was able to purchase 2200 acres and 300 head of cattle from them; he later purchased the LaBarge Ranch as well.

Duthie married Theresa Ann Clark (1866-1947) in 1885, who was from Ontario and had come to Alberta to visit her sister, Mrs. Lochlan Bell. Richard and Theresa had four children, Beatrice “Trixie” Kate (MacMurdo) (1887-1941), Richard Clark (1890-1963), Ethel (McLaughlin) (1893-1962), and James Grant "Grant" (1903-1983).

After the Alberta Ranch Company was dissolved, Duthie went to the Peigan Reserve as foreman for the Maunsell Brothers' IV Ranch. leaving his eldest son Richard “Clark” to manage the Duthie ranch. Duthie returned to his ranch and carried on with it until failing health forced him to retire and he sold to Mr. J. A. Sandgren in 1917.

After managing the ranch in his father's absence, Clark graduated from the University of Toronto with a Bachelors of Veterinary Science in 1914, received his Veterinary Surgeon's designation from the Ontario Veterinary College in that same year, and received his Doctorate in Veterinary Science from the University of Toronto in 1919. After WWI broke out, Clark Duthie enlisted with the 13 CMRs [Canadian Mounted Rifles] at Pincher Creek and the next June was transferred to the British Remount Commission. He was sent to Montreal to inspect all horses going overseas and was later sent to New York to do the same.

In 1917, Clark Duthie married Yvonne Julia Marquis (1895-1996). Yvonne was the second of five children born to Henry Marquis and his wife Agnes (neé Pelletier). Henry had moved west from New Brunswick to Pincher Creek, Alberta in 1900 and the family followed him one year later. He worked for the Hudson's Bay Company, The King Edward Hotel, owned the Alberta Hotel, worked as a Game Warden at Waterton National Park, as manager of the grocery department of a general store, and finally opened a store of his own. Yvonne was born in New Brunswick and raised and educated in Pincher Creek. She taught school in Pincher Creek and later in Edmonton from 1915-1916. Yvonne and Clark Duthie had three sons: Robert (1928-2002), Gordon (1932-2011), and John “Jack” (1935-1998).

Clark served until 1918, attaining the rank of captain. After the war, Clark began a veterinary practice at Vernon, B.C. but left to organize mange areas for the Health of Animals Branch of the Canadian Department of Agriculture. He remained with the branch to 1925, when he moved to the pathological division in Ottawa. After a time in the laboratory, he returned to the Health of Animals Branch.

Upon outbreak of WWII, Clark became associated with a secret project dealing with chemical warfare where he held the rank of major. In 1945, Clark took over the Veterinary Research Laboratory near Lethbridge. He retired in 1955 and passed away in 1963. Yvonne continued to live in Lethbridge until she passed away in 1996, at the age of 100.

English, Robert and Gertrude
Family

Robert English was born on January 5, 1884 in Sunderland, England to John and Jane Ann English. He was educated at Bede Collegiate and on December 19, 1905, shortly after his graduation, he married Gertrude Atkinson. Together they had three children, two sons, John and Robert, and one daughter, Gertrude. In 1909 the family moved to Canada, settling in Alberta, and English became Clerk of the Police Court and Secretary to the May and City Commissioners of Edmonton. He resigned in 1921 and joined the Department of Municipal Affairs, rising from Inspector to Assistant Deputy Minister and, in 1931, to Deputy Minister.

English retired from this position in 1934 and was subsequently appointed to the Dominion government audit staff which handled relief accounts. He also acted as secretary to the Provincial Advisory Commission on Taxations, headed by Dr. H.M. Tory. In 1939 English served as the Secretary of the Royal Visit Receptions Committee and in 1943 was appointed Registrar of the Alberta Mobilization Board. In later years he served as a manufacturers' agent. English was also a member of various clubs and associations, servings as Past Master of the Masonic and Orange Orders, Past Monarch of the Kekan Grotto, and a member of the executive of the Edmonton West and Provincial Liberal associations.

He died on December 22, 1956.

Esak, Annie and Peter
Family

Annie (1893-1974) and Peter Esak (1887-1973) came to Alberta in 1905 from Romania and homesteaded in Alberta at Section 21, Township 57, Range 14, West of the 4th Meridian (21-57-14-W4) near Willingdon. Together, they had eleven children.

In 1955, Annie and Peter received Senior Citizen's Awards from the Government of Alberta.

Everitt, James and Alice
Family

James (1850-1937) and Alice Everitt (neé Bertram) (1844-1927) were married in 1876 in England and had seven children: Charles, Bertie, Frank, Ernie, Will, Marion, and Jessie Sarah. They also adopted one girl, Maud Faulkner.

James, Alice, and Jessie Sarah immigrated to Canada in 1905, first arriving in Montreal before heading to Saskatoon and finally arriving in Lloydminster via covered wagon.

Jessie Sarah Everitt (1885-1962) married Herbert Elkington (1888-1964), a blacksmith, and had one daughter, Madeline. Madeline served in the army during World War Two and owned her own business, a hair salon, from 1947 to 1972.

Family

August Falkenberg (1858-1943) was born in Poland. His wife, Wilhelmine (also known as Minnie) (1863-1945) was born in Russia. In 1893, they sailed into St. Johns, Newfoundland with their children Ferdinand (1885-1952) and Bertha (Priebe, then Fillenberg) (1890-1961). The family then traveled west and settled in Alberta to homestead in the Fredericksheim, Alberta area. The family homesteaded at Section 4, Township 49, Range 24, West of the 4th Meridian (4-49-24-W4).

After arriving in Canada, they had two additional children: Emma (Grapentein) (1894-1983) and Walter (1897-1908).

Famille Belcourt
Family

Le 30 juin 1946, la famille Belcourt a tenu une réunion à Midland (Ontario) pour célébrer son troisième centenaire. À cette occasion une généalogie de la famille, écrite par R. P. Guillaume Belcourt, a été produite pour tous les membres de la famille. Le livre de 54 pages fait la chronique des Belcourt, commençant en 1646, quand Jules Trottier, le premier ancêtre Belcourt en Amérique du Nord, a émigré de France. Jules a vécu sous le nom de Trottier jusqu'à sa mort, mais ses enfants ont choisi d'autres noms, y compris Bellecour. Plus tard on a adopté la graphie Belcourt.

Famille Bérubé
Family

Pierre (Pete) Bérubé est né le 28 juillet 1877 à Saint-Pierre- Baptiste (Québec), fils d'Aristobule Bérubé et Marie Lambert. Après avoir travaillé au Maine (É.-U.), il a rendu visite à son oncle Anicet Bérubé, sur sa ferme au sud de Beaumont (Alberta actuelle). En avril 1899, Pierre est allé à Strathcona (Territoires du Nord-Ouest). Il a acheté une ferme de son oncle à l'ouest de Beaumont et s'est marié avec la fille d'Anicet Bérubé, Emma, le 29 janvier 1900. Ils ont eu 19 enfants, dont trois qui sont morts en bas âge. En 1905 Pierre a acheté un terrain à Strathcona, sur l'avenue Whyte, où il a bâti une grange et une écurie (White Star Livery Stable), un restaurant et une maison. En 1909 il a acheté une ferme au nord de Beaumont et a construit une grande maison familiale (1912). Peu après, il y a construit une étable et a démarré une exploitation laitière. Pierre a été très actif dans le secteur de l'immobilier. Il a également élevé divers animaux, y compris des chevaux et des renards. Emma est morte le 11 octobre 1957. Pierre s'est remarié avec Françoise Fontaine-Leblanc le 29 novembre 1958. Après avoir subi une crise cardiaque en 1963, Pierre a pris sa retraite et a déménagé à Edmonton, où il est mort le 8 avril 1971.

Famille Bilodeau
Family

Gertrude Bilodeau naquit le 30 juin 1926 à Vimy, Alberta, où sa famille avait une ferme. Son père, Albert Bilodeau, naquit le 30 avril 1881 à Sainte-Marguerite, Québec. Il arriva en Alberta en 1906 et maria Alma Demers à Legal le 9 janvier 1912. Alma naquit le 16 novembre 1889. Albert et Alma eurent sept enfants : Phillipe (1912), Blanche (1914), Alice (1915), Germaine (1917), Rose (1919), Joseph (1921), Gertrude (1926). Alma décéda le 13 novembre 1949 à Saint-Albert et Albert décéda le 7 octobre 1969.Joseph (Joe) Bilodeau, le frère de Gertrude, s'enrôla dans l'armée canadienne pendant la Deuxième Guerre Mondiale. Il fit son service pour 4 ans au Canada, Angleterre, France, Pays-Bas et Allemagne, où il resta pour encore un an après la fin de la guerre, et eut une correspondance intensive avec sa famille pendant cette période.Gertrude épousa Alphonse Gagné le 23 mai 1950. Alphonse naquit le 31 juillet 1920 à Sainte-Marguerite, Québec, et vint en Alberta en 1939. Il travailla sur des fermes à Vimy, puis en loua une. Quant le propriétaire l'a vendue, il prit des cours de coiffeur et eut un salon de coiffure pour hommes à Saint-Paul pendant 27 ans. Gertrude fut couturière. Gertrude et Alphonse eurent cinq enfants : Lucille (1951), Maurice (1952), Norman (1958), Elaine (1960) et Alma (1963). Alphonse décéda dans un accident d'auto à Toronto, le 27 juillet 1973. Gertrude se maria une deuxième fois avec Chris Hartry en 1990. Elle vit présentement (2011) à Edmonton.

Famille Chalifoux
Family

Paul Chalifoux immigra dans la Nouvelle France en 1647 de Perigny, près de La Rochelle, France. Ses enfants, Albert, Émile, Berthe, Parfait, Henri, Alice, Reine, Melonia, Armand, Hercule Lionel, Louis Lucien, Germaine, Pauline et leurs descendants se sont répandu depuis à travers le Canada, y compris l'Alberta.

Famille Chevalier
Family

Charles (Charlie) P. et Mary E. Chevalier ont vécu à Castor, Alberta, avant de déménager à Red Willow. Charles fut un commerçant de graines. Ils eurent quatre fils : John, Paul, Austin et J. Barrett. Barrett devint commerçant à Edmonton. Charles et Mary retirent à Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, pour être près de leur fils Paul.

Famille Côté
Family

L'histoire de la famille Côté en Alberta commença quand Jean Léon Côté débuta sa carrière d'arpenteur en 1886. Depuis, la famille Côté a maintenu sa présence en Alberta, laissant sa marque dans le système légal et dans la vie politique de la province.

Famille Dargis
Family

Albert Joseph-Amédée Dargis naquit en 1885 à Minneapolis, Minnesota, et vint avec ses parents et sa sœur à Beaumont, Alberta, en 1895. En 1907 il part de Beaumont pour explorer la région du Lac d'Orignal (Moose Lake). Il choisit un terrain sur les bords du Lac des Deux Iles, renommé plus tard Lake Jessie, où la communauté de Bonnyville se développa ultérieurement. Albert Dargis fut très impliqué dans sa communauté locale : il fut le premier maire de la ville, siégea sur le conseil municipal et le conseil scolaire, et fut désigné juge de paix. Il décéda en 1968.

Pamela Joséphine Vézeau naquit le 18 mars 1887. Elle épousa Albert Dargis le 26 septembre 1910 à Saint-Paul-des-Métis, Alberta, et ils s'établirent plus tard à Bonnyville. Albert et Pamela eurent 14 enfants : Joseph (1911), Alice (1912), Laura, Irène, Isabelle, Raymond, Flore (Sœur Claire), Julien, Gustave, Cécile (1925), Henriette (1927), Lorraine (1930), Anne-Marie (1931) et André (1932).

Anne-Marie Dargis est le 13e enfant d'Albert Dargis at Pamela Vézeau. Anne-Marie épousa Wilfrid Régimbald en 1951. Ils vécurent à Legal avant de déménager à Edmonton vers la fin des années 1950.

Famille Dron
Family

Théodore Dron et son épouse, Léonie, avec quatre enfants, immigrèrent du nord de la France pour prendre un homestead dans les environs de Clyde, Alberta, en 1908. Les frères de Théodore, Gustave et Henri, vint le rejoindre dans la région de Clyde en 1909. Léonie décéda en 1910 et la famille déménagea à Tampa, Florida, en 1911. Henri était célibataire et retourna en France en 1919. Vers 1917, Gustave et sa famille eurent une boucherie, mais ils déménagèrent à Edmonton où ils résidaient encore en 1931.

Famille Gariépy
Family

Joseph Hormidas Gariépy naquit le 3 décembre 1852 à Saint-Lin, Québec. À l'âge de seize ans, il déménagea à Montréal, où il hérita une épicerie. Il maria Etudienne Boissoneault le 1er février 1875. On compte parmi leurs enfants : Wilfrid, Cléophas, Hélène, Maria, Charles Édouard, Blanche et Edmund. En 1892, Joseph vint à Edmonton et décida d'acheter le terrain au coin nord-ouest des rues Jasper et McDougal (100e rue) pour 1 200 $. Sa famille le rejoint à Edmonton en 1893. Il ouvrit un magasin général, au début associé avec Joseph Chénier, puis il continua avec Edmund Brosseau, et ensuite avec Pete Lessard. Joseph fit sa fortune avec les biens immobiliers. Il fut membre fondateur et président du Board of Trade et il aida à la création du Conseil scolaire séparé pour ensuite servir dans le conseil pendant vingt ans. De plus il servit au conseil de la ville d'Edmonton en 1897. J.H. Gariépy décéda le 6 juillet 1927.

Wilfred naquit le 14 mars 1877 à Montréal. Il arriva à Edmonton avec sa famille en 1893 et il travailla pour son père jusqu'en 1898. Par la suite, il étudia au Collège Saint-Laurent, à l'Université Laval et à l'Université McGill ; il reçut sa licence en droit 1902. En 1903 il commença à exercer la profession d'avocat à Edmonton, d'abord comme membre du cabinet Taylor, Boyle & Gariépy, et plus tard comme directeur de Gariépy, Landry & Landry. Il épousa Albertine Lessard le 9 septembre 1903 ; ils eurent quatre enfants : Hormidas, Wilfrid, Marcelle (Lemaire) et George. Wilfrid Gariépy fut membre du Conseil scolaire d'Edmonton de 1904 à 1912, échevin de la ville de 1906 à 1910 et membre libéral de l'Assemblée législative (MLA) pour Beaver River de 1913 à 1921. Pendant son mandat de député provincial, il fut ministre des Affaires municipales de 1913 à 1918 et brièvement Secrétaire provincial en 1918. En 1921, il déménagea avec sa famille à Trois-Rivières, Québec, où il continua à exercer la profession d'avocat. Il fut Membre du parlement fédéral pour la circonscription électorale de Trois-Rivières de 1935 à 1940 et encore de 1945 à 1949. Wilfrid Gariépy décéda le 13 janvier 1960.

Joseph Cléophas naquit probablement à Montréal. Il eut deux fils, Edmund (né vers 1911) et Henri (né vers 1913). Cleophas décéda avant 1924.

Hélène naquit vers 1879 à Montréal. En 24 novembre 1900 elle épousa Prosper Edmond (Pete) Lessard. Ils eurent trois enfants : Alice, Arthur et Albertine.

Maria naquit vers 1881 à Montréal. Elle épousa Joseph Miville Déchène le 11 juillet 1910. Ils eurent cinq enfants : André, Aimé, Joffre, Lorraine et Pauline. Maria décéda en 1969.

Charles Édouard naquit le 19 mars 1888 à Montréal. Il reçu son éducation au Collège Saint-Laurent et Osgoode Hall à Toronto, Ontario. Il fut avocat à Edmonton, admis au barreau de l'Alberta en 1920. Pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale, il servit dans le 22e Régiment Royal. En 1926, Charles fut élu au Conseil scolaire séparé d'Edmonton. En 1930 il épousa Vivienne de Celles ; ils eurent trois fils : Roger, Pierre et Jean. Charles fut échevin pour la ville d'Edmonton de 1940 à 1949. Il fut nommé juge de la cour du district du Nord de l'Alberta en 1949 et il se retira de ce poste le 19 mars 1963. Il fut membre des Chevaliers de Colomb, du Men's Canadian Club et de la Légion royale canadienne. C.E. Gariépy décéda le 3 septembre 1976.

Marie Blanche naquit vers 1895, probablement à Edmonton. Elle décéda le 5 mars 1948.

Edmund naquit le 25 mai 1898 à Edmonton. En 1926 il habita à Los Angeles, puis vers 1946 à Louiseville, Québec, et finalement à Montréal. Il épousa Isabelle et ils eurent deux fils, Pierre et Paul.

Famille Hittinger
Family

Les familles Hittinger et Tellier furent deux des familles fondatrices de la ville de Morinville. Le père de Lucile Tellier quitta le Québec pour s'établir à Morinville en 1891. Lucile naquit à Morinville le 10 septembre 1908, septième de huit enfants. Elle épousa Anthony (Tony) Hittinger de Morinville le 3 juillet 1940. Tony naquit le 6 septembre 1908 à Morinville, où il habita et pratiqua l'agriculture pour la plupart de sa vie. Lucile fut profésseure d'école et ils ont eu trois filles, Gloria, Sylvie et Marlene.

Famille Ladouceur
Family

Joseph Ladouceur vint à Lac La Biche, les Territoires de Nord-Ouest, en 1804 de Québec. Il épousa Josephte Cardinal, fille de Joseph Soldat Cardinal et Louise Frobisher, en 1813. Il eut un fils, Joseph. En 1843, Joseph (né 1813) épousa Julie Auger. Cinq de leurs enfants ont survécu : Joseph, Augustin, Narcisse, David et Adam (1843-1910). Les frères d'Adam œuvrèrent comme marchands de fourrures dans la zone de Lac La Biche et Adam s'occupa de leur ferme. La famille géra un comptoir de commerce à River Lot 3 et plus tard à River Lot 45, près de Notre Dame des Victoires. Adam épousa Marguerite Desmarais (1847-1902) en 1872 et décéda en 1910 à Lac La Biche. Le père d'Adam mourut en 1890. Le commerce fut détruit par le feu en 1970.

Famille Lamoureux
Family

Joseph Lamoureux est né le 9 février 1838, à Saint-Georges d'Iberville, Québec, fils du François Lamoureux et Marguerite Thérien. Il épouse Marie Provost en septembre 1855 et ils s'établissent à Kankakee, Illinois, É.U. Vers 1860 Marie Lamoureux hérite la ferme de sa mère à Henryville, Québec, où ils reviennent. Aux alentours de 1866 Joseph Lamoureux voyage vers l'Ouest, en rejoignant une caravane prenant la route d'Oregon vers la côte Pacifique. À la fin de route, il rencontre son frère, François (Frank) de façon inattendue et ils voyagent ensemble vers l'Alberta d'aujourd'hui, au nord de Fort Saskatchewan, de l'autre bord de la rivièere, où ils arrivent vers 1872. Au printemps de 1873 Joseph Lamoureux amène à Saint-Boniface, Manitoba, sa femme, Marie, ses cinq enfants-Alcibiade, Éveline, Alphonse, Israel et Zélia, avec son époux Théophile Lamoureux-, et ses frères, Moise et Amable. Le printemps prochain, la plupart de la famille arrive à sa ferme près de Fort Saskatchewan, où naît son fils Arthur en 1879.

Zélia Lamoureux s'est marié avec Théophile Lamoureux, né le 15 août 1852, fils d'Albert Lamoureux et Domithilde Molleur. Zélia et Théophile ont voyagé avec Joseph Lamoureux pour aller à Saint-Boniface, puis sont arrivé au nord de Fort Saskatchewan vers 1874. Ensemble ils ont eu six enfants : Stanislas, Corinne, Hormidas, Eugene, Evelyne et Oscar. Après la mort de Zélia, Théophile a épousé Otilia Gaumont, qui avait quatre enfants d'un mariage antérieur : Bertha, Romeo, Leo et Flora.

Éveline a épousé Choiseul Éléazar del la Gorgendière, Alphonse a épousé Laura Chévigny, et Alcibiade, Lumina Poirier. Ils ont eu ensemble sept enfants : Aurélia, Délia, Philodore, Rose-Anna, George Edmond, Blanche-Antoinette et Bertha-Laura.

Joseph Lamoureux et son frère Frank ont démarré un partenariat pour construire et gérer ensemble une scierie le long de la rivière Saskatchewan, et Joseph a acheté un bateau à roues à aubes (sternwheeler) nommé The Minnow pour le transport des marchandises sur la rivière. Joseph Lamoureux est décédé le 13 décembre 1907 et son fils Arthur a pris en charge la ferme. Arthur est décédé le 5 décembre 1955.

Frank Lamoureux épouse Marie Sauvé le 12 janvier 1874. Le père de Marie était employé de Hudson Bay Company au Fort Edmonton. En plus de son partenariat à la scierie avec son frère, Frank était membre du conseil de l'église et le premier membre d'un conseil d'école dans la région. Il a eu dix enfants avec son épouse : Marie-Rose, Caroline, Anne, Édouard, Joséphine, Antoinette, François, Adélaïde, Alice et Marie-Louise. Frank Lamoureux est décédé le 1er novembre 1906.

Amable Lamoureux, frère de Joseph Lamoureux, est né le 7 mai 1844. Après la mort de son épouse Celina Bissonnette, Amable voyage avec son frère Moïse et la famille du Joseph vers l'Ouest. Il a épousé Mary Poirier et ils ont eu ensemble treize enfants. Ils sont partis vers l'Alberta d'aujourd'hui en 1885, où Amable a été un des fondateurs du district scolaire Le Creusot, en 1891. Il est décédé le 12 octobre 1913.

François Lamoureux et Théophile Lamoureux ont été, avec James Reid, les premiers membres du conseil du District scolaire public catholique-romain No. 2 de Fort Saskatchewan. Olivia Lamoureux a enseigné au même endroit entre 1885 et 1891.

Famille LaPerle
Family

Hermosa LaRue (5 mars 1869-27 juillet 1947) épousa Félix LaPerle (12 mai 1867-14 oct. 1949) en 1887 à Cornwall, Ontario, et ils s'établirent à l'Ouest d'Edmonton en 1898. Ils eurent trois fils, Euclide, Percy et Éléodore Joseph (Léo, né en 1895), et une fille, Hermosa. Ils acquirent un quart de section de terre de Chemin de fer Canadien Pacifique pour 427$, dans la région nommée plus tard Winterburn. Eva LaPerle, l'épouse de Percy, était née le 1er janvier 1900. Léo s'engagea dans l'armée en 1916 et fit son service en Europe pendant la Première Guerre Mondiale. Il épousa Annie Marie Lambert le 20 août 1929. Annie naquit le 7 février 1903, la plus jeune des six filles d'Hormidas et Olivine (Plante) Lambert. Ses parents s'épousèrent aux États-Unis en 1887 et vinrent dans la région de Beaumont dans l'Alberta d'aujourd'hui en 1893. Ses sœurs furent Marie-Louise (1888), Eugénie (1891), Rose-Alma (1893), Clarice (1896) et Agnes (1899, décédée en bas âge). Annie fut institutrice et membre de l'Association des instituteurs bilingues de l'Alberta avant de se marier.

En 1906 John et Eleodore LaRue bâtirent le magasin de Winterburn, où était géré aussi le bureau postal local. Ils l'ont vendu à Léo et Annie LaPerle en 1929, qui l'ont agrandi et ont géré le magasin et le bureau postal pour 40 ans. Le magasin devint un centre de la communauté de Winterburn. Pendant la Grande Dépression les gens venaient d'un champ de travail voisin pour écouter la radio les samedis et dimanches, pour rester souvent toute la nuit. En 1969 le magasin de Winterburn fut acquis par le Department of Highways pour faire place au futur pont par dessus l'autoroute 16. La famille LaPerle s'est retirée en suite sur sa ferme située 1 mille au sud du magasin.

Annie LaPerle fut membre du Winterburn Women's Institute et décéda le 17 novembre 1997. Léo LaPerle fut un ancien membre des Chevaliers du Colomb, Conseil 1938 La Verendrye. Il siégea longtemps dans le conseil scolaire local et dans le comité directeur de la Ligue Communautaire de Winterburn. Il décéda le 6 février 1980. Un quartier et une école primaire dans l'ouest d'Edmonton furent nommés en l'honneur d'E.J. (Léo) LaPerle. Annie et Léo eurent deux fils : Olivier (Oliver) Nelson (1930-1954), qui décéda à la suite d'un accident de tracteur, et Jean (John) Eugene, né le 21 octobre 1934. John LaPerle suivit l'école Memorial High à Stony Plain. Il épousa Colleen Meehan le 14 juillet 1972 et ils eurent ensemble deux enfants, une fille, Laurielle (Hainsworth), et un fils, Laurier John.

Famille Leroux et Roberge
Family

La famille Leroux et ses filiations divergentes s'originent des pionniers québécois arrivés en Alberta au début de XXe siècle. La famille Leroux a des forts liens avec Saint-Paul et représente différents aspects de l'héritage franco-albertain.

Ordonné Leroux, le patriarche de la famille, naquit en 1896 à Waton, Québec. Il fut un des six enfants de ses parents. Ordonné vint en Alberta seul à l'âge de 16 ans et s'installe à Therien, une communauté tout nouvelle au nord de Saint-Paul. Ordonné travailla comme fonctionnaire de poste, homme à tout faire, conducteur de chariot et aide à la ferme à Vegreville, Calgary, Edmonton, Lethbridge et Therien, avant de s'établir à Saint-Paul, où il devint copropriétaire et gérant du Hôtel Lavoie. Il fut maire de Saint-Paul de 1947 à 1949 et conseiller municipal pour 12 ans, dans les années 1940 et 1950. Il mourut en 1982.

Béatrice Leroux (née Roberge), la matriarche de la famille, naquit à Beaumont, Alberta, en 1903, un des six enfants de Zénon et Marie Roberge. La famille Roberge est d'origine du Québec et œuvra en agriculture en Wisconsin avant d'acheter un homestead à Beaumont. Après un période de temps à Beaumont et Saint-Edouard, la famille déménage à Saint-Paul en 1912. Béatrice fut la première opératrice de téléphone à Saint-Paul en 1920 et épousa Ordonné Leroux en 1921. Ils eurent huit enfants : Roland, Émile, Lorraine, Yvette, Moza, Claire, Yolande et Claudette. Béatrice fut lingère et buandière à l'Hôtel Lavoie et s'impliqua plus tard avec des groupes paroissiales, les Aides soignantes de l'Hôpital Sainte-Thérèse (Sainte-Thérèse Hospital Ladies' Auxiliary), et groups d'art et d'artisanat. Elle mourut en 2005.

Famille Maisonneuve
Family

Phillias Maisonneuve est né en 1872 à Saint-Lin, comté de l'Assomption, Québec, fils d'Honoré Maisonneuve et Mary Therrien. Il est venu à Morinville en 1892, à l'âge de 20 ans. Dès son arrivée, il prit le quart nord-ouest de la section 12, canton 55, rang 26, à l'ouest du 4e méridien (12-55-26-W4), au sud-ouest de Morinville. Il était charpentier et a bâti, entre autres, le couvent de la mission à St-Paul-des-Métis et le couvent des Filles de Jésus à Morinville. Avec son partenaire Terrault, il a ouvert en 1905 un magasin général sur l'avenue Jasper à Edmonton.

En 1906 il épousa Madona Léveillé à Edmonton. Madona était la fille de Joseph Léveillé et Mélina L'Abbé. En 1909 ils ont vendu toutes leurs propriétés à Edmonton et ont installé un moulin à bois à Morinville, puis à Rich Valley et à Donnelly, tout en gardant et agrandissant la ferme à Morinville.

Madona et Philias ont eu 11 enfants : Honoré (1907), Lucille (1908), Louis-Philippe (1909), Laurier (1911), Juliette (1912), Charlotte (1914), Paul-Émile (1918), Raymond (1921), Lucien (1923), Thérèse (1925) et Gérard (1927). Philias est décédé en 1940 et Madonna en 1977.

Famille Mathieu
Family

Adolphe Wesley Mathieu naquit le 17 juillet 1885 à Louisville, Kentucky, où sa famille s'installa après avoir parti de Montréal, Québec. Le père de Wesley, Adolphis Mathieu, mourut quand Wesley avait seulement six mois. Sa mère, Azilda Pigeon Mathieu, retourna chez sa famille à Montréal. Suivant l'invitation de Père Morin, la famille d'Azilda partit pour l'Alberta en 1894, s'installant à Willingdon pour un an, puis à Edmonton. Wesley étudia quatre années au Collège Saint-Laurent à Montréal, temps pendent lequel Azilda épousa Onezime Huot, le 9 février 1897, et s'établit à l'est de Gibbons, Alberta. Wesley épousa Hélène Gagnon le 1er février 1915 et ils eurent cinq enfants : Armand Henri, né le 2 janvier 1916, Adolph, né le 23 février 1917, Alfred Louis, né le 6 août 1920, George, né le 31 août 1930, et Adèle, née le 26 juillet 1932. Wesley fut maître de poste dans la région connue comme Sturgeon et aussi secrétaire-trésorier de Sturgeonville Mutual Telephone Company et de district municipal de Sturgeon. Wesley décéda le 29 novembre 1961 et Hélène, le 22 mai 1977. Armand resta célibataire et demeura sur la ferme familiale jusqu'à son décès, le 18 novembre 1961. Adèle étudia au Collège Assomption d'Edmonton et épousa René Blais de Debden, Saskatchewan, le 22 juillet 1952.

Famille Rodberg et Roy
Family

Charles Rodberg arriva au Canda de Belgique vers 1892, avec quatre autres individus, avec l'intention d'élever des chevaux. En 1895 il déposa son dossier pour un homestead dans le quart de nord-ouest, section 24, hameau 46, rangée 23, à l'ouest de 4e méridien (NW-24-46-23-W4). Charles épousa Géraldine Roy vers 1897. La famille Rodberg demeura près de Gwynne, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest (aujourd'hui Alberta). La maison fut en même temps magasin et office postal (nommé initialement Diana, à l'honneur de leur première fille, puis renommé Gwynne en 1906). Charles et Geraldine eurent sept enfants : Diana (née 1898), Liliane (née 1900), Roxane (née 1901), Ruby Solange (née 1903), Charles Joseph (né 1904), Francis (Frank, né 1910) et Léonie (née 1915). Pour une bonne période de temps, l'immigrant belge Emile Jacmard demeura avec la famille et travailla sur le homestead. Charles Rodberg décéda en 1917, âgé de 50 ans, puis sa famille déménagea à Wetaskiwin et plus tard à Edmonton. Geraldine décéda en 1964.

Geraldine Roy naquit en 1874 à Saint-Boniface, Manitoba. Elle arriva au Territoires du Nord-Ouest en 1887 avec son père, George Roy, sa mère, Mathilda Langevin, et ses sœurs : Mary Mathilde Georgina (née 1873) et Marie Blanche Antoinette (née 1877). George Roy fut le premier officier de cadastre à Edmonton, position qu'il garda pour 20 ans. Il bâtit une des premières résidences privées à Edmonton, à 10007-105 Rue, où il vécu jusqu'à sa mort. Georgiana épousa Antonio Prince en 1891 et Marie Antoinette épousa Jules A. Royal en 1894. Antonio mourut en 1906 et Marie Antoinette se remaria. George Roy décéda le 27 novembre 1932 à Edmonton.

Famille Royer
Family

Jean Royer naquit en 1859 à Saint-Charles-de-Bellechase, Québec, fils de Jean et Zoé (Brochu) Royer. En 1882 il épousa Élise à Lambton, Québec. Ils ont déménagé à Bartlett, New Hampshire, où naquit leur premier enfant, mais retournèrent bientôt au Québec. En 1894 ils partirent avec les colons de Père Morin vers l'Ouest et s'installèrent près de Sandy Lake. Jean prit un homestead dans la section 28, hameau 50, rangée 23, à l'ouest de 4e méridien (28-50-23-W4). Les enfants de Jean et Élise furent Achille, Omer, Henri, Amanda, Adélard, André, Wilfred, Philippe et Aimé. Élise décéda le 15 novembre 1933 et Jean, le 5 septembre 1935.

Famille Tetreau
Family

Le premier Tetreau à habiter en Nouvelle-France était Louis Tetreau, fils de Mathurin Tetreau et Marie Bernard. Il est né en 1634 dans la paroisse Saint-Martin-de-Louin, Poitou, en Bretagne (France). Un document daté du 23 janvier 1662 certifie sa présence à Trois-Rivières (Québec) où il s'est marié, le 9 juin 1663, avec Marie-Noëlle Landeau, née en 1638. Ils ont eu neuf enfants et leurs descendants se sont établis un peu partout sur le continent nord-américain. Benoît Tetreau, de la neuvième génération des Tetreau au Canada, a été un des premiers colons à Vegreville (Alberta). Il s'y est fixé en 1894 avec sa femme, Amilda Denise Tetreault, et leurs six enfants, nés aux États-Unis.

Ferbey, Melnychuk family
Family

Dmytro Steven Ferbey was born in 1888 in Kniazhe, Western Ukraine. In 1909 Dmytro Ferbey left Ukraine for Canada and settled in Edmonton, Alberta. In 1912 Dmytro's brother Mykhailo, a former Crowsnest Pass miner, organized the News Company Limited in Edmonton, Alberta. This company was created in response to the Government of Alberta's insistence that English be the sole language of instruction in schools. In an attempt to preserve the Ukrainian language and culture, the News Company Limited published a newspaper called Novyny and organized the Ukrainian Book Store in Edmonton, Alberta. Also known as the Ukrainska Knyharnia, the Ukrainian Book Store sold Ukrainian books, newspapers, and stationery. On October 14, 1913 the Ukrainian Book Store was incorporated as the Canadian Importers Company Limited. A year later Dmytro and John Ferbey joined their brother Mykhailo as partners of the firm.

Mykhailo took up farming shortly thereafter and left the Ukrainian Book Store to his brothers. In 1920 John moved to Mundare, Alberta leaving Dmytro and Maria, Dmytro's wife of five years, to operate the store as the largest stockholders. Over the years Dmytro, Maria and their four children, Lillian, Osyp, Natalka, and Borys, operated the Ukrainian Book Store.

Dmytro was also very active in the Edmonton community. He was one of the original shareholders in the Independent Wholesale Company and was a member of the Edmonton Chamber of Commerce. He was also an active member of the Ukrainian Pioneers' Association, the Ukrainian Self-Reliance League, and was made an honorary life member of his church, St. John's Ukrainian Orthodox Cathedral. Dmytro was one of the founders of St. John's Institute in Edmonton, and was an agent for Northwestern Mutual Insurance Company from about 1941 until his death. Dmytro Ferbey died in Edmonton, Alberta on April 25, 1961, a few weeks after Maria Ferbey's death on April 6, 1961.

Bohdan Stephen Melnychuk was born on December 8, 1922 in Dauphin, Manitoba to Reverend Peter and Justine Melnychuk. After his graduation from High School he joined the Royal Canadian Air Force (RCAF) in 1941. He served in the RCAF for three years during which time he earned his pilot's wings and the rank of Flight Sergeant. In 1946 Melnychuk married Natalka Ferbey, the daughter of Dmytro and Maria Ferbey. A year later he joined the staff of the Ukrainian Book Store. After his father-in-law's death in 1961, Melnychuk became the manager of the Ukrainian Book Store. During the 1980s his daughters Elena and Joanne joined their father and mother in running the family business. After Bohdan's death on August 17, 1987, Elena and Joanne took over the operation of the Ukrainian Book Store with their mother.

During his lifetime Bohdan was active in various business and community affairs in Edmonton, Alberta. He served as the Secretary and Treasurer of the local chapter of the Ukrainian Self-Reliance League, and was a representative to the local Ukrainian Canadian Committee for many years. He was a supporter of the St. John's Institute in Edmonton, and the Ukrainian Museum of Canada in Saskatoon. Melnychuk was also one of the founding members of the Ukrainian Canadian Archives and Museum of Alberta, was a member of the Norwood Legion #178, was a long time member of the Ukrainian Professional Business Club, and was the Director of the Independent Wholesale. He also sang in the Lysenko Male Choir in the 1940s and in the Dnipro Male Chorus.

Finlay family
Family

Robert Eddy Finlay was born in December 5, 1871 in Centreton, Ontario to Robert McLennan and Mary Ann (Griffin) Finlay. Robert received his primary education in the Peterborough district, and later studied theology at Victoria College in Toronto, Ontario. He was ordained June 8, 1898 in the Methodist Church in Lindsay, Ontario.

After hearing John McDougall, who was seeking recruits from the Victoria College for Methodist missionaries for Western Canada, speak, Robert set out for Alberta after graduating from Victoria College in 1901. He served in Vegreville, Alberta, founding the first Methodist Church in Vegreville. Finlay subsequently served across Alberta in Clover Bar, the Wetaskiwin district, Pincher Creek (1908-1912), Airdrie, Innisfail (1913-1916), Red Deer East (1916-1918), Oyen (1918-1921), and Lake Saskatoon (1921-1925). In 1923, Finlay was elected president of the Methodist Conference of Alberta.

In 1925 he was a delegate to the General Council, which was involved in the establishment of the United Church of Canada. As a United Church minister, Robert served in Clive (1925-1927), Parkland (1927-1931), Carmangay (1931-1935), Hardisty (1935-1937) and Jasper (1938-1940). Robert retired in 1940, and was in charge of the archives for the Alberta Conference of the United Church of Canada. In 1955, St. Stephen's College conferred Finlay with a Doctorate of Divinity from the University of Alberta. Robert and his wife, Stevie, had two children, Gordon and Bernice. Reverend Robert Eddy Finlay died on December 25, 1961 in Edmonton, Alberta.

Susan (Stevie) Steven Moxley was born October 18, 1879 to Robert Moxley and Jane Stevens. While visiting her sister in Pincher Creek, Stevie met Robert Eddy Finlay; they were married October 9, 1912. While her husband was sick in 1937, she took over some of her husband's duties including visiting the sick, and at times preaching. She died December 1, 1937.

Gordon Roy Finlay was born October 24, 1913 in Innisfail. He taught school before completing a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry in 1938, and a Master of Science in 1939, both from the University of Alberta. He earned his doctorate in inorganic chemistry from Cornell University in 1942. He then worked in Chippawa, Ontario with the Norton Research Corporation. He married Eileen G. Connolly (1907-1986) in 1953, and lived in Niagara Falls, Ontario. He died in 1985.

Hazel Bernice Finlay was born March 35, 1916 in Innisfail. She married William David Hoskin (1908-1985); they had one son, Steven Malcolm. She died in 1983.

Folk, Hodgson family
Family

Dee C. Folk was born in 1896 in Ohio, and with his parents, Mr. and Mrs. Charles W. Folk and sister Mary, came to Carmangay, Alberta in 1910. Dee served in the Canadian Army during the First World War. When he returned, he attended the Claresholm School of Agriculture, intending to be a farmer, but instead discovered an interest in teaching.

He married Beryl Crow, who had arrived in Carmangay from Oregon with her parents and siblings in 1915. Dee taught in many places throughout Alberta, including Hola, Markerville, Dapp, Westlock, Manyberries, Etzikom, Bow Island, and Drumheller and at the Vermilion Agricultural School. He died in 1961. Beryl had taught music before her marriage; she died in 1972.

Dee and Beryl had one daughter, Dorothy, born in Innisfail, Alberta in 1925. Dorothy taught piano before her marriage to Ernest Hodgson (1923-2012) on July 18, 1951. Ernest also taught in Alberta, in Grand Prairie and Red Deer, and was later a professor in the Faculty of Education at the University of Alberta. She died in 2009.

Ford family
Family

The Honourable Frank Ford was born in Toronto, Ontario, on March 4, 1873 to James and Catherine (nee Poole) Ford. He received his early education in Ontario public schools and the Ontario Academy. He studied law at the Ontario Law School in Osgoode Hall, Toronto and received his Bachelor of Civil Law degree from Trinity University in Toronto.

Ford articled with Read, Read and Knight in Toronto Ontario 1890 to 1893, and with McCarthy, Osler, Hoskin, and Creelman from 1893 to 1895. He obtained a Doctor of Civil Law degree from Toronto University and was called to the Ontario bar in 1895. From 1893 until 1897, Ford served as the Private Secretary to D'Alton McCarthy, Queen's Counsel of Toronto. Following McCarthy's death, Ford became a partner with Denton, Dods and Ford from 1897 until 1898. He then served as the Private Secretary to the Honourable A.S. Hardy, Premier and Attorney General of Ontario, and then to the Honourable J.M. Gibson, Attorney General of Ontario. In 1900 Ford became the Solicitor to the Treasury, and remained at this post until 1903.

In 1906, he moved West, and was admitted to the bar of the Northwest Territories and later served as Deputy Attorney General for Saskatchewan until 1910; that year, he relocated, and joined the Edmonton firm of Emery, Newell, Ford, Bolton and Mount. He practiced with this firm until his appointment to the Supreme Court of Alberta, Trial Division at Edmonton on May 3, 1926. On November 3, 1936 he received a second appointment, this time to the Appellate Division of the Supreme Court. Throughout his career, three provinces named him King's Counsel: Saskatchewan in 1907, Ontario in 1910, and Alberta in 1913. He also served as Chancellor of the Edmonton Diocese of the Anglican Church of Canada from 1913 to 1933, and 1941 to 1954. He was Chancellor of the University of Alberta from 1941 to 1946. He received an honorary Doctor of Law degree (LL.D) from the University of Alberta in 1946 and from Laval University in 1947. Ford retired from the bench in 1954. He finished a Lieutenant Colonel of the Canadian Militia, 95th Saskatchewan Rifles, Regina, Saskatchewan. He was also Bencher of the Law Society of Saskatchewan from 1907 to 1910, and Bencher of the Law Society of Alberta from 1913 to 1926.

Frank Ford married Nora Elizabeth Sampson in Toronto in 1899. Together they had two sons and two daughters: Katherine (Link), Francis Armour, D'Alton M., and Mrs. F.K. Kerr. In 1920 Nora died. Ford remarried July 30, 1923 to Jane Duff Kerr of Edinburgh, Scotland. Frank Ford died on March 21, 1965.

(Francis) Armour Ford was the son of Frank Ford. Armour was born in Toronto On February 17, 1902. Armour attended public school in Saskatchewan from 1907-1911, Private High School in Edmonton Alberta from 1911-1916, and High School in Edmonton from 1916-1918. Armour began studying for a combined degree in Arts and Law in 1918 at the University of Alberta, and received his BA in 1922 and his law degree in 1924. He also joined the military in 1922. In 1939 he served in World War II and commanded the 61st, Battery Royal Canadian Artillery. He retired from the military a Lieutenant Colonel. Like his father, Armour was also a King's Counsel lawyer in Edmonton. In addition Armour sat on the Edmonton School Board as a trustee, and was a member of the non-partisan political association The People's League. Armour married Helen in 1953, and they relocated from Edmonton to Sproat Lake, in the Alberni Valley, British Columbia; Armour continued to practice law locally. Armour and Helen belonged to numerous community organizations in Port Alberni, and in particular, the Alberni District Historical Society. In 1983, they were named Citizens of the Year in Fort Alberni. The Fords also donated 130 acres of land to build Fossli Provincial Park near Sproat Lake. Armour died in 1987, and Helen in 1997.

Family

Jeanne Keroack was born in Edmonton in 1918 to Emma (Baril) and Albert Keroack.

Tharcis Forestier was born in Duck Lake, Saskatchewan in 1914. Tharcis was one of the first three employees of Radio-Edmonton CHFA. Jeanne married Tharcis Forestier on August 12, 1952. and they had two children, Michel and André.

Tharcis died in Edmonton on April 26, 1982. André died in Edmonton in 1996 in a car accident. Jeanne died in Edmonton in 2019.

Forestier, Jeanne et Tharcis
Family

Jeanne Keroack naquit à Edmonton en 1918, fille d'Emma (Baril) et Albert Keroack. Tharcis Forestier naquit à Duck Lake, Saskatchewan, en 1914 et décéda à Edmonton le 26 avril 1982. Tharcis fut un des trois premiers employés de Radio-Edmonton CHFA. Jeanne et Tharcis se sont mariés le 12 août 1952. Ils ont eu deux enfants, Michel et André. André est décédé dans un accident de voiture en 1996.

Forin family
Family

Alexander Forin was born in Belleville, Ontario in 1857. He received his degree in medicine from Queen's University in Kingston in 1884. Four years later he married Winnifred Fair of Collingwood, Ontario. Together they moved west, first to Nelson, British Columbia and then to Edmonton, Alberta between 1902 and 1903.

From 1905 until 1918, Alexander worked as the medical officer in the Alberta penitentiary. He later became the coroner for northern Alberta until his retirement in 1936. He was also an active member in several associations throughout Alberta. He was an early president of the Medical Association, participated in sports and was involved in the church. Alexander Forin died on January 2, 1937.

John W. Forin, or Jack as he was commonly known, came to Edmonton with his parents, Alexander and Winnifred. During the First World War, he fought with the 218th Battalion. After the war, he worked for Canadian National Telegraphs. Around 1936, Jack and his first wife Aileen (Molly) Casey had a son named Terrence Peter. Jack married his second wife, Geraldine Law, in 1947. Jack Forin died in 1964.

Fowler family
Family

The Fowler family operated a farm at Section 6, Township 65, Range 53, West of the 4th Meridian (6-65-53-W4) in Alberta.

Frank Oliver family
Family

Frank Oliver (Sr.) was born Frank Bowsfield in Peel County, Ontario in 1853. In his teens, he reverted to his mother's maiden name "Oliver", and dropped "Bowsfield". As a youth, he worked for a local newspaper and eventually moved to Toronto to work as a typesetter. In 1873, he came west and spent three years in Winnipeg. While in Winnipeg he worked for the Winnipeg Free Press.

In 1876, he moved to the Edmonton area, and set up a store on the outside of Fort Edmonton. On a trip back from Winnipeg in 1880, he returned with a printing press. Oliver then partnered with Alex Taylor and founded Edmonton's first newspaper, the Edmonton Bulletin, in 1880.

First elected to the Northwest Territories Council in 1883, he entered the House of Commons in 1896 as an independent Liberal -- the first Member of Parliament from Alberta. In 1905, Sir Wilfrid Laurier appointed Oliver as the Minister of the Interior. Oliver later became a member of the Privy Council. Oliver was defeated in the federal election of 1917. After the First World War, Oliver served on the Board of Railway Commissioners until his death in 1933.

Frank Oliver married Harriet Dunlop (1863- 1943), daughter of Thomas Dunlop of Prairie Grove, Manitoba in 1881. Together, they had six children: Harriet (Hislop) (1882-1936), Dora (Anderson) (1885-1969), Claire (Keefer) (1886-1961), Anna (Garret) (1889-1916), Allan (1893-1916), and John (1896-1951). Allan Oliver was killed in action in 1916. He enlisted in the Ottawa battery in 1915. He graduated with a B.A. from McGill University in 1915.

John Oliver served in the First World War. He worked as a Legislative reporter and music critic for the Edmonton Bulletin, and ultimately served as City Editor and Executive Editor for the Bulletin. He married Rose Barker (1898-1991) in 1930. She was active in the Local Council of Women, and the Alberta Women's Institute. She also served as President of the Hospital Associated Auxiliaries. Together they had one son, Frank

Frank Oliver Jr. (1932-2008), son of John Oliver, grandson of Frank Oliver, began working in the field of journalism in 1951. In the 1950's, the Edmonton Journal did not employ a staff photographer, but contracted photographic work to independent studios. In 1952, Laddie Ponich received a contract, and Oliver apprenticed under Laddie Ponich. In 1953, Oliver established the Frank Oliver Studio at 11220 Jasper Avenue. The studio completed commercial work such as portraits, and weddings. He also maintained a contract with the Edmonton Journal from 1953- 1955. Frank Oliver Jr. left journalism in 1955. He married Marjorie Richardson (1927-2012). He died in Edmonton in 2008.

Fraser family
Family

The Fraser family of Winterburn, Alberta are descendants of Colin Fraser of Scotland. Colin Fraser, born around 1805 in Assynt, Sutherlandshire, journeyed to Canada on July 12, 1828 as the piper to Sir George Simpson, Governor of the Hudson's Bay Company.

Colin Fraser remained with the Hudson's Bay Company for many years, eventually rising to the rank of Clerk around 1859. He also served as a postmaster at Fort Edmonton in 1853, during which time his wife Nancy gave birth to their 10th child Henry. Colin Fraser died April 19, 1867 and his wife Nancy died August 29, 1900 at the age of 92.

Their son, Henry Fraser married Margaret Ann Pruden in 1884 and together they had four children. Among them were two sons, Tommy Fraser and Robert Fraser.

Galbraith family
Family

Barry Frank Galbraith was born March 31, 1894 in Wellington, Shropshire, England, the third of three sons of John Galbraith (1848-1930) and his wife Eliza Wilson (1861-1935). In June 1912, he left to take up a homestead in Alberta where his second cousin Ernie Kerr was already homesteading. Barry obtained land across the Pembina River from Ernie in the Cosmo district. Barry spent the winter of 1913-1914 working in Edmonton at the St. Regis Hotel and as an usher at the Empress Theatre in the evenings. That spring, he travelled back to his homestead, which he had named Wilsona after his mother's family.

In 1914 Barry worked as a temporary teacher in the one room school at Cosmo, Alberta and in August of that year he joined the war effort. He served in the British Army as Acting Serjeant in the Indian Army Supply Column Regiment 37482, and as a Second Lieutenant in the Black Watch and the King's African Rifles. He was stationed in France, the United Kingdom, and East Africa.

Annie “Nan” Lucy Whitehead was born October 22, 1896 in Middlesex, England. She was the first of three daughters of Walter (1872-1927) and Lucy (1870-1906) Whitehead. She and Barry married June 16, 1919 at the Chertsey Register Office and she accompanied Barry on his return to Canada in 1919. Together they had seven children.

In 1935, Barry and his cousin Bert Kerr purchased the Varsity Truck Shop near the University of Alberta and the family moved to Edmonton. They returned to the farm in 1938. In 1939, their oldest son Ian took over the farm and Barry accepted a job with the federal government as a poultry inspector, which he continued until retirement.

During retirement, Barry kept bees, gardened, served as a judge at county fairs, and helped as needed on the farm. Barry passed away in Edmonton on May 15, 1969. Nan stayed at the farm until 1971 when she moved to the village of Sangudo. She passed away on March 29, 1985.

Galganetz family
Family

Peter Galganetz (1903-1986) was born in Bukovina, Austria. He attended school from 1910 to 1915. In 1924, he left for Canada, settling in Alberta. For the next few years, he worked as a laborer and a miner. He married Martha Kupchenko in 1939 in Edmonton, Alberta.

Martha Lukusta (1905-1996) was born in Hairy Hill, Alberta to Gawrylo and Mary Lakusta. She attended school until Grade Four. She then worked in road construction. She married Ivan "John" Kupchenko (1901-1936) in Kaleland, Alberta in 1925. Together they had three children: Elizabeth (1926-1930), Walter (1929-2013), and Jennie (1934-1940). After his death, she married Peter Gaganetz.

Peter and Martha had two children: Mary (Krywiak) (b. 1939) and William "Bill" (1943-2011). The Galganetz farmed in the Two Hills area until 1979 when they purchased a home in Two Hills and retired.

Gargus family
Family

Frank Gargus (Garkus) (1883-1965) came to Alberta from Tarnopol, Poland. He and his wife, Myhalena "Helen" Weleschuk (1893-1950), settled to homestead in the Rodef District near the North Saskatchewan River. In 1919, the family moved to the Wostok area of Alberta.

Frank and Myhalena had fourteen children: Joseph (1912-1981), Kazmir (1914-1983), Walter (1915-1996), Adam (1917-2007), John (1918-1983), Helen (Kolewalski) (1921-2021), Peter (1922-2009), Jenny A. (Babiuk, later Hawryskevich) (1924-2011), Adolph Leo (1926-1980), Anton (1928-2014), Mary (Hrynew) (1929-1971) , Mike (1931-1998), Rose (Kubersky) (1932-2021), and Victoria (Charchuk).

Gariépy family
Family

Joseph Hormidas Gariépy was born December 3, 1852 in Saint-Lin, Quebec. At the age of 16, he moved to Montreal, Quebec, where he eventually inherited a grocery store. He married Etudienne Boissonneault on February 1, 1875; their children included Wilfrid, Cleophas, Hélène, Maria, Charles Edouard, Blanche, and Edmund. In 1892, Joseph came to Edmonton and proceeded to buy the land at the northwest corner of Jasper and McDougal Street (100 Street), for an unprecedented $1,200. His family joined him in Edmonton in 1893. Joseph opened a general store, first with partner Joseph Chenier, continued with Edmund Brosseau, and then with Pete Lessard. Joseph made his fortune in the real estate business. He was a founding member and president of the Board of Trade, and helped found the Separate School Board, serving on the Board for twenty years. He was also on the Edmonton Town Council in 1897. J.H. Gariépy died July 6, 1927.

Wilfrid was born on March 14, 1877 in Montreal. He came to Edmonton with his family in 1893, and worked for his father until 1898. Wilfrid then studied at Saint-Laurent College, Laval University and McGill University, receiving his Bachelor of Law in 1902. In 1903 he began practicing law in Edmonton, first as a member of Taylor, Boyle & Gariépy, then later as head of Gariépy, Landry & Landry. He married Albertine Lessard on September 9, 1903; they had four children: Hormidas, Wilfrid, Marcelle (Lemaire), and George. Wilfrid was a member of the Edmonton School Board from 1904 to 1912, a City of Edmonton alderman from 1906 to 1910 and a Liberal Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) for Beaver River from 1913 to 1921. While an MLA, he was Minister of Municipal Affairs from 1913 to 1918 and briefly Provincial Secretary in 1918. In 1921, he and his family moved to Trois-Rivières, Quebec, where Wilfrid continued to practice law. Wilfrid was a Member of Parliament for the Federal Constituency of Trois-Rivières from 1935 to 1940 and again from 1945 to 1949. Wilfrid died January 13, 1960.

Joseph Cleophas was likely born in Montreal. He had two sons, Edmund (born ca. 1911) and Henri (born ca. 1913). Cleophas died prior to 1924.

Hélène was born ca. 1879 in Montreal. On November 24, 1900 she married Prosper Edmond (Pete) Lessard. They had three children: Alice, Arthur, and Albertine.

Maria was born ca. 1881 in Montreal. She married Joseph Miville Déchène on July 11, 1910. They had five children: André, Aimé, Joffre, Lorraine and Pauline. Maria died in 1969.

Charles Edouard was born March 19, 1888 in Montreal. He was educated at Saint-Laurent College and Osgoode Hall in Toronto, Ontario. He was a lawyer in Edmonton, admitted to the Alberta bar in 1920. During the First World War, he served with the Royal 22nd Regiment. In 1926, Charles was elected to the Edmonton Separate School Board. In 1930 he married Vivienne de Celles; they had three sons, Roger, Pierre and Jean. Charles was a City of Edmonton alderman from 1940 to 1949. He was appointed as a district court judge for Northern Alberta in 1949, and retired from this post on March 19, 1963. He was a member of the Knights of Columbus, the Men's Canadian Club and the Royal Canadian Legion. C.E. Gariépy died September 3, 1976.

Marie Blanche was born ca. 1895, likely in Edmonton. She died on March 5, 1948.

Edmund was born May 25, 1898 in Edmonton. In 1926 he was living in Los Angeles, then ca. 1946 in Louiseville, Quebec, and finally in Montreal. He was married to Isabelle, and they had two sons, Pierre and Paul.

Gauthier family
Family

The Gauthier family lived in Wabamun, Alberta. Henriet Gauthier was born in Edmonton in 1875. In 1896, Charles Gauthier homesteaded at the Southwest Quarter of Section 4, Township 53, Range 26, West of the 4th Meridian (NW ¼ 4-53-26-W4). In 1910, Charles Gautier homesteaded at the Northwest Quarter of Section 32,Township 52, Range 4, West of the 5th Meridian (NW ¼ 32-52-4-W5).

Members of the Gauthier family also worked in the fur trade in the early part of the 20th century.

Geddes family
Family

Malcolm Daniel Geddes was born in Wick, Scotland in 1866. In 1877, he arrived in Canada and settled with his family on a farm beside Lake Cecebe, Ontario. He attended Ontario Agriculture College and graduated in 1898. In 1902, Malcolm moved to Winnipeg to write for the Farmer's Advocate, but returned to Ontario in the next year to marry Mary Jane (Jennie) Waters (1871-February 7, 1937).

Malcolm and Jennie moved to Calgary and the next year, Malcolm helped establish the first farm paper in Western Canada, The Farm and Ranch Review. In 1917, Malcolm joined the Alpine Club of Canada. In 1924, he was one of those to make the first ascent of Mt. Geikie in Jasper National Park, in a party along with Val Fynn and Cyril G. Wates. Malcolm served as Honorary Secretary from 1924 to 1926 and National Librarian for the Alpine Club of Canada. In 1927, Malcolm died in a mountaineering accident on Mount Lefroy in the Rocky Mountains in Alberta. Malcolm and Jennie had two children: Alvin Brookes Geddes (1904-1990) and and Enid Jeane Geddes (Darroch) (1909-1969).

Alvin Geddes had three children: William (Bill) Geddes, Ruth Elliot, and Anne Geddes. Enid Darroch had four children: Malcolm Darroch, Gordon Darroch, Gail Benjafield, and Karen Probert.

Olive Mary Oke (neé Spacey, 1864 - 1959) moved to Creemore, Ontario from England in 1870. In 1885, she married W.T. "Tony" Oke. Tony worked for the Grand Trunk Railway, and later, Canadian National (CN). While Tony worked for the railway lines, the family lived in the Jasper area, Edson, and Edmonton. Olive maintained regular correspondence with her family and was involved in cultural and church activities. She became president of the Women's Auxiliary at Edmonton's All Saints' Cathedral. Malcolm and Jennie Geddes' son, Alvin, married Tony and Olive Oke's daughter, Olive, in 1931.

Alvin Geddes was born in 1902 in Calgary. He attended South Calgary High School. In 1924, he attended the University of Alberta. After the University of Alberta, he attended Iowa State College of Agriculture and Mechanic Arts. Following his graduation from Iowa State in 1927, Alvin began working for Westinghouse Electric and Manufacturing in Pittsburgh. He then transferred to the Canadian branch of Westinghouse in Ontario. Alvin moved to Calgary with Westinghouse and began working as a salesperson. In 1943, he began working for National Supply. Alvin held several positions in National Supply as an order clerk, sales engineer, store manager, field salesman, district manager, and division manager. In 1968, Alvin formed Geddes Engineering Ltd. and Oilfield Personnel Canada Ltd. Alvin died in 1990.

William Geddes was born in 1932. He worked as a lawyer in Edmonton, Alberta. William passed away in 2001.

Girard family
Family

Joseph-Adélard-Fernando Girard was born on December 11, 1913, in Saint-Ambroise, near Chicoutimi, Quebec, to Méridé and Albertine (Pedneaud) Girard. Méridé Girard died on December 26 of that same year, at 25 years of age. Albertine returned to live with her parents, Joseph and Sophie Pedneaud. She remarried on July 29, 1918, to Samuel Lalancette. In the fall of 1925 Fernando Girard left his family to attend Chicoutimi's seminary, where he stayed until 1932. He then worked as a lumberjack, but as he could speak and read English, he decided to go into business.

Girard married Sophie Lalancette on July 8, 1936. She was born on May 25, 1913, in Saint-Ambroise. They had ten children: Thérèse (1937), Hélène (1938), Gabrielle (1940), Noëlla (1942), Réal (1944), Fernande (1945), Jean-Claude (1948), Benoît (1949), Lise (1952) and Luc (1958). Luc Girard died before his first birthday and Noëlla died of cancer on March 22, 1957.

In 1948 F. Girard became president of Saint-Ambroise's agricultural cooperative, in 1949 he became director of the Fédération des chantiers cooperatifs and in 1952 he was director of the Saguenay department of the Fédération de l'Union catholique des cultivateurs (UCC). The UCC aimed to establish French communities in the West, including in Saint-Isidore, Alberta. On May 13, 1955, F. Girard and his family arrived in Saint-Isidore, where he had been made president of Les Compagnons de Saint-Isidore society. In 1963 he accepted the position of president of the Coopérative d'aménagement rural et développement agricole (CARDA) in Saint-Paul. Moreover, he was president of the Association canadienne-française de l'Alberta (Saint-Paul region) from 1969 to 1971. When Caisse Francalta Credit Union was founded in 1972, Girard became a development officer and in 1973, its president.

He retired on May 17, 1978, and died in Edmonton on March 31, 1980.

Goldberg family
Family

Max Goldberg (1870-1943) married Mollie Freadman (1880-1950) in St. Louis, Missouri in 1900. They arrived in Daysland, Alberta in 1907. They had five children: William (1904–1957), Florence (Middleman) (1906–2017), Morris (1908–1983), Allan (1914–1984) and Bernard (1916–1964).

They homesteaded at Section 10, Township 46, Range 15, West of the 4th Meridian (10-46-15-W4). Max Goldberg also opened a tailoring business on Daysland's Main Street.

Gonsett family
Family

Irene Stefanyna of Chipman, Alberta married Robert Roman Gonsett and in 1914 they settled in Edmonton, Alberta where Gonsett set up a laboratory to work on his numerous inventions. The family moved to California in 1916 and Gonsett established the Gonset Company in Burbank, California to manufacture electronic equipment. The Gonsett's had one son, Faust Robert Gonsett. Irene Gonsett and her son donated $1000 to the University of Alberta in 1956 to establish the R.R. Gonsett Memorial Ukrainian Library, and also established a Bursary in his name, and together continued the family business until it was sold to L.A. Young Spring and Wire Corporation in 1958.

Goryniuk family
Family

Iwan (John) Goryniuk was born in 1885, in Bukowina, Austria and was likely the son of Iwan (John) and Elena Goryniuk. The Goryniuk (Goriniuk) family came to the Pakan, North-West Territories area in 1900. John (Jr.) homestead near Pakan, in Section 24, Township 58, Range 17, West of the 4th Meridian (24-58-17-W4). In 1908, John married Domka Cebuliak.

She was born in 1890 in Toporoutz, Bukowina, Austria and was the daughter of Dimitri and Dokitsa Cebuliak. The Cebuliak family had come to Canada in 1899, also settling in the Pakan district. Domka worked on her parents' homestead before marrying. John and Domka's children were Wasylena (Lillian) (Skrepnek) (1908-2002), Peter (1909-1909), Stefan (Steve) (1912-1979), William J. (1914-1921), Katie (Sebzda), and George (1916-1991). Domka died in 1917 and John in 1950.

Lillian married Wasyl Skrepnek (1901-1988) and they moved to Culp, Alberta. She died in McLennan, Alberta in 2002.

Steve was born May 23, 1912 in Pakan. He farmed with his father for many years. He eventually moved to Lamont, Alberta. He died September 2, 1979.

Katie married John Sebzda (1912-1994) and resided in Smoky Lake, Alberta.

George married Margaret Moody (1914-2007). George, Margaret and children Greta (Gulick) (d.2001), Norman and Jerry moved to Woking, Alberta in 1945 (a daughter Heather was born a few years later). He worked for the Northern Alberta Railways from 1946 to 1955. George died August 23, 1991.

Green and Peets Family
Family · 1912-2006

Lee Fox Green, of Illinois, USA settled on a plot of land north of Dewberry, Alberta (NE26 TP54 R4 W4) in 1909. In 1912, he married Areta Fleming and as a couple they developed a farm house on the land. They had four children Carolina (born 1914), Muriel (born 1915), Margaret (born 1918), and Harlan (born 1930). As their farm and family expanded in the 1920s, Green purchased all of section 23 TP54 R4 W4 from the Canadian Pacific Railroad. He centered his farming operation on the southwest quarter of this section. Over the next several decades, he erected many buildings there, including a house, a large barn, a separate pig barn, a blacksmith shop, a machine shop, and a separate residence for hired help. He also built a teacherage for teachers of the nearby Riverton School in 1948. By this time, the farm had come to be known as Greenridge.

Today, the Greenridge Farm is recognized as a Provincial Historic Resource in Alberta. The site’s value lies in its representation of experimental ideas in farming and construction in the early to mid-twentieth century. Under the stewardship of farmers Lee and Harlan Green, the farm was one of the first in the area to have electricity and water, along with a stock of purebred Belgian horses, and a large herd of Aberdeen Angus cattle. Additionally, Greenridge farm acted as a social center for the surrounding community of Dewberry.

Lee and Areta Green were both musicians and parishioners of the local United Church. Lee was also politically active and involved in the local branch of the United Farmers of Alberta. In 1949, Lee ran as a federal Co-Operative Commonwealth Federation candidate for the riding of Battle River, but was unsuccessful. Lee died in 1974, and a few years later Areta died in 1980. They are buried together at Dewberry Cemetery.

Areta and Lee’s son, Harlan Green, took over Greenridge Farm after Lee’s retirement in 1953. Harlan worked as both a farmer and musician, playing First Flute in the Edmonton Symphony Orchestra (ESA) for 40 years. He also played with the Plumbers Union, an electric recorder band where several musicians composed music, including prominent Edmonton jazz musician Tommy Banks.

Harlan met Mara (Marilyn) Peets in 1999 after playing in the ESO and the Edmonton Civic Opera (ECO) with her father, John O.A. Peets. Together they had five children. Mara Peets’ father had settled in Edmonton at the age eight in 1912. He was an Edmonton and Alberta Booster, wrote historical articles in Real Estate Weekly, and took photos for the Northwestern Utilities and the Civic Opera. He was also a poet, made greeting cards, and was interested in words and languages. John passed away in 2003.

In 2008, Harlan Green passed away in Edmonton and was survived by his wife Mara; his children Virginia, Miranda, Eliza, Louisa, and Harlan; his stepson Robert Everett; his seven grandchildren and five great-grandchildren.

Groat family
Family

Malcolm Alexander Groat was born April 1, 1836 in Halkirk, Caithness, Scotland. He was educated at the common school in Halkirk, and between the ages of fourteen and eighteen, helped on his father's farm. He served with the militia during the Crimean War. Following the war, he served as an apprentice carriage builder until 1861, when he signed on with the Hudson's Bay Company (HBC), traveling to Fort Edmonton. At Fort Edmonton, he served as the steward to the chief factor, William Joseph Christie, and supervised the Fort's farm.

On June 26, 1870, he married Margaret Christie, daughter of William Christie; they had two daughters and eight sons. In 1875 he left the employ of the HBC and farmed land he had obtained in 1870 after the HBC surrendered most of its lands to the Dominion of Canada in 1869 (retaining lands around their forts); Malcolm's land was just west of the HBC reserve and became known as the Groat Estate. In 1903, he sold some of his land to William Tretheway, who in turn sold it to James Carruthers in 1905.
Malcolm died May 17, 1912. Margaret died December 22, 1915.

Malcolm and Margaret's children included: Alexander Eric, born November 26, 1870; Malcolm Forbes, born December 5, 1871; John Osborne, born November 13, 1873; William Charles, born January 4, 1876; George Clair, born January 25, 1878; Mary Olive Sinclair, born May 13, 1880; Margaret (Maggie) Ann McRae, born September 16, 1882; Thomas Anderson, born February 20, 1886; Walter Sache, born January 19, 1888; and Robert Andrew, born October 13, 1891.

Alexander Eric married Arabell Matilda Eccles on November 2, 1892 and they lived near Spruce Grove, Alberta and later in Vancouver, British Columbia; he died in August 30, 1952 in Vancouver.

Malcolm Forbes, known as Forbes, served during the Boer War and was later a wilderness guide; he married Emma Oppertshauser and they lived in Edmonton until about 1930; he died December 4, 1932 in Sunset Prairie, British Columbia.

John Osborne married Adelaide Fraser on August 1, 1899; he died in 1917 while serving during the First World War.

William Charles died April 25, 1897.

George Clair also served during the Boer War; he married Barbara Young MacDonald on November 26, 1908 and they lived near Spruce Grove; he died in 1952.

Mary Olive Sinclair married Daniel Brown on February 27, 1900 and they lived near Graminia, Alberta; she died January 5, 1936.

Margaret (Maggie) Ann McRae married A.J. Macdonald and they lived in Edmonton and then Vancouver; she died in Burnaby, British Columbia in 1958.

Thomas Anderson was part of the Grand Trunk survey team in 1904 and married Clarisse Moberly in 1910; he died May 30, 1949.

Walter Sache died June 7, 1928 in Pouce Coupe, British Columbia.

Robert Andrew died in 1899.

Halford family
Family

Thomas Henry Halford was born November 11, 1881 in Toronto, Ontario; he was the son of George and Harriet Halford. Between 1881 and 1901, the family moved to Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Thomas came to Edmonton, Alberta in about 1905. In Edmonton, he managed A. Carruthers and Company Limited (of Winnipeg), a fur and hide business. He managed Carruthers (later know as Carruthers Hide and Fur Company) until about 1929, when he started his own fur and hide business, Halford Hide and Fur Company, Limited. He served as president of the Edmonton Raw Fur Merchants Association.

Thomas married Maud (Miller) (1882-1950) in Winnipeg in 1905. Together, they had five children: John Miller (1913-2005), Albert (Bud) Ewart (1917-2005), Thomas George (1920-2012), Edith Lorraine (Henderson, later Inglis) (1907-1987) and Margaret Jean (Stoffels) (1909-1968).

Thomas died December 27, 1942 and Maud died July 31, 1950.

Hampson family
Family

Cyril (Cy) Hampson was born in Lacombe, Alberta in May 1914. He became a teacher in Whitecourt during the Great Depression and later became a professor at the University of Alberta and the University of Calgary, completing his PhD thesis on the locomotion of northern flying squirrels in 1966.

In addition to his teaching career, Cy Hampson was an avid wildlife researcher, photographer, writer, and documentarian. His photographs of flora and fauna, particularly birds and Arctic species, have been used to illustrate several publications on Albertan and northern Canadian wildlife. Hampson also wrote several books on Canadian wildlife, including Into the Woods and Beyond (1971) and With Ptarmigan and Timber Wolves (1991), and wrote a weekly column entitled Outdoors Unlimited on birds and other wildlife for the Peninsula News Review of Sidney, British Columbia.

During his tenure at the University of Alberta, Hampson also produced Question Mark Trail, a radio program distributed through Alberta School Broadcasts that focused on Alberta wildlife.

He married Margaret Harrow (1918-1962) in Clive, Alberta in 1939, and together they had a child, Michael. He later married Mary Forge (1922-2010).

While visiting from Sidney, Cy Hampson died in Edmonton in July 1997.

Hamson, Ruth and Leo
Family

Ruth Cornell was born March 20, 1920 in Edmonton, Alberta to George and Sara (Moore) Cornell. In 1939 she took a job at the head office of the Canadian Bank of Commerce in Toronto, Ontario where she met her husband Leo.

Leo Hamson was born in Toronto on October 13, 1920. After graduating in 1939, he took a job at the Canadian Bank of Commerce. Leo served during the Second World War as a sergeant-instructor in a field artillery battery and was later granted a commission as a lieutenant. He sent for Ruth while posted to East Coast Harbour Defenses and they were married November 6, 1942 in St. John, New Brunswick. Leo was later sent to Europe and returned in August of 1945. Following the war he served in Calgary, Alberta, Wetaskiwin, Alberta and at a Prisoner of War (P.O.W.) camp. While discharging veterans, he met a group planning Little Smoky Farm Industries and was invited to join.

Ruth and Leo arrived in the Guy district in March 1946 as part of Little Smoky Farm Industries. Little Smoky Farm Industries encountered many setbacks and many members backed out of the operation. Ruth and Leo left in 1951 to find work in High Prairie.

Leo worked for C.A. Nantais, the Imperial Oil agent for two years before taking over management of High Prairie Medical Clinic where he stayed for 21 years. He later worked for nine years as purchaser and warehouse manager for High Prairie School Division before retiring in 1984.

Ruth worked for 23 years at the central office of the School Division as Executive Secretary to Superintendents. Ruth and Leo Hamson moved to the Laurier Heights area of Edmonton in 1986 and traveled extensively from the 1960s to the 1990s. Many of their travels were undertaken with the University of Alberta's Faculty of Extension and Grant MacEwan's Minerva Senior Studies Institute.

Leo was also involved in the making of a 2003 NFB documentary entitled The Enemy Within which focused on German POW camps in Alberta during and immediately after World War II. Leo was interviewed in the film about his experiences at the POW camps.

Leo died on August 12, 2007.

Together, Ruth and Leo had three children: Karl, Marilyn Leslie, and Laura.