Collection PR3860 - Fire insurance map collection

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Fire insurance map collection

General material designation

    Parallel title

    Other title information

    Title statements of responsibility

    Title notes

    • Source of title proper: Title based on the content of the records.

    Level of description


    Reference code


    Edition area

    Edition statement

    Edition statement of responsibility

    Class of material specific details area

    Statement of scale (cartographic)

    Statement of projection (cartographic)

    Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

    Statement of scale (architectural)

    Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

    Dates of creation area


    • 1908- 1946 (Creation)

    Physical description area

    Physical description

    170 maps

    Publisher's series area

    Title proper of publisher's series

    Parallel titles of publisher's series

    Other title information of publisher's series

    Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

    Numbering within publisher's series

    Note on publisher's series

    Archival description area

    Name of creator

    Biographical history

    The provenance is not recorded or known for the records associated with this name authority record.

    Custodial history

    Scope and content

    The collection consists of fire insurance maps for the following communities in Alberta:
    Alix, 1910
    Bawlf, 1910
    Blairmore, 1925
    Bruce, 1910
    Burdett, 1910
    Carbon, 1924
    Cardson, 1915
    Carmangay, 1910
    Castor, 1910
    Claresholm, 1906
    Cochrane, 1908
    Coleman, 1905
    Daysland, 1924
    Didsbury, 1924
    Exshaw, 1910
    Frank, 1906
    Gadsby, 1910
    Gleichen, 1916
    Grande Prairie, 1916
    Hanna, 1922
    Hardieville, 1920
    Hardisty, 1910
    High River, 1915
    Holden, 1910
    Irma, 1931
    Irvine, 1910
    Killiam, 1910
    Lacombe, 1946
    Leduc, 1930
    Fort Macleod, 1912
    Manville, 1918
    Monarch, 1910
    Morinville, 1930
    Mundare, 1946
    Nanton, 1931,
    Olds, 1924
    Pincher Creek, 1908
    Ponoka 1924
    Provost, 1924
    Redcliffe, 1913
    Ryley, 1910
    Steller, 1951
    Strome, 1931
    Taber, 1910
    Tofield, 1910
    Vegreville, 1930

    Notes area

    Physical condition

    Immediate source of acquisition

    In 1966, the Provincial Archives of Manitoba saved the maps from destruction at an underwriter’s office and subsequently donated the material to the Provincial Archives of Alberta.


    Language of material

      Script of material

        Language and script note

        The material is in English.

        Location of originals

        Availability of other formats

        Restrictions on access

        Access Conditions: None

        Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

        Use Conditions: Permission for use required. Subject to the Copyright Act.

        Finding aids

        File list is not available.

        Associated materials

        Related materials


        Further accruals are not expected.

        General note

        The images can be located in the A file of the Provincial Archives of Alberta reference prints under the numbers A. through A.

        Land locations described according the Alberta Township Survey system (ATS).

        General note

        Includes accession PR1966.0192.

        Alternative identifier(s)

        Standard number

        Standard number

        Access points

        Subject access points

        Name access points

        Genre access points

        Control area

        Description record identifier

        Institution identifier

        Rules or conventions


        Level of detail

        Dates of creation, revision and deletion

        Language of description

          Script of description


            Accession area