Showing 6 results

Archival description
PR3962 · Collection · 1872-1929

The collection contains a variety of materials, purchased from Academic Books in five purchases over a decade. The collection includes an unpublished manuscript (1908) written by Alexander MacKenzie on the Peace River District covering the years 1793-1908. The next is a typed letter from R.B. Bennet to John Stocks (1905), the then-Deputy Commissioner of Public Works of the North-West Territories (which included present-day Alberta and Saskatchewan at the time). This letter concerned the rising waters that were beginning to circumvent the Elbow River Bridge in Calgary.

Other records include North-West Territories Gazettes (Volume 18, Numbers 7-14, 1901), a HBC census record of the Saskatchewan District (1872), a HBC census record from the Athabasca District (1873), and a small ledger book used in Dunvegan with several pages at the end used by a child to practice letters and drawing (1891-1925). Attached to the census of the Athabasca District is also a document noting the “division of the Chipewyan Nation” according to the Census taken.

Academic Books (Vancouver)
F.A. Morrison fonds
PR1919 · Fonds · 1897-1928

The fonds consists of records relating to the public life of F.A. Morrison and includes notebooks, manuscripts, correspondence, certificates and assorted speeches, including those given after the First World War and those given to the Burns Club and to the Masons. The fonds also includes two bound volumes of Macaulay’s Life and Letters, presented to F.A. Morrison for the Christmas of 1910 by R.B. Bennett.

Morrison, F.A.
Joe Forsyth fonds
PR3047 · Fonds · 1920 - 1941

The fonds consists of material acquired by Joe Forsyth and includes pamphlets and journals related to the Alberta Social Credit Party dating from the 1920s and 1930s; transcripts of R.B. Bennett's radio broadcasts produced by the Dominion Conservative Headquarters in the 1930s; and a transcription of Leonard W. Brockington's war-time speeches produced by the federal department of Public Education in 1941.

Forsyth, Joe
PR3982 · Collection · 1894-1911

The collection consists of a photograph of the members of the Supreme Court of the North West Territories, a photograph of the 8th Convocation of the Benchers of the Law Society of Alberta, a portrait of P.J. Nolan, K.C., a portrait of R.B. Bennett, and a photograph of the Benchers of the Law Society of the North West Territories.

Unknown donor
PR1343 · Collection · 1784-1972

The collection consists of both copied and original records and includes records belonging to various companies, associations, governments, and individuals. Fonds includes agendas, Alberta law stamps, association records, banners, calendars, celebration and event programmes, certificates, constitutions, diaries and daily journals, financial records, glass plate negatives, historical and biographical sketches, invitations, judges’ case books, lantern slides and coloured lantern slides, literary manuscripts, maps, mechanically produced photographic reproductions, minutes, negatives and cyanotype negatives, newsletters, newspapers and newspaper clippings, personal reminiscences, phonodiscs, photographs, political party records, prize lists, radio broadcasts and broadcast transcripts, receipts, scrapbooks, shares, souvenir booklets and photograph albums, surveys, temperance posters, and various other miscellaneous records. The collection has been divided into the following series: Aberdeen Association (1909-1911); Aberhart, William (1943); Alberta Golden Jubilee (1954-1955); Alberta Institute of Co-operation (1928-1929); Alberta Society of Petroleum Geologists (around 1954); Alberta Women's Institute (1915-1963); Albright, W.D. (1930); Athabasca and District Board of Trade (June 9, 1952); Bennett, Richard Bedford (1905-1938, predominant 1937-1938); Blue, Mrs. John (1907-1913); Blyth, Alfred (1936-1939); Bob Edwards' Summer Annual (1920-1922); Brick, Mrs. A.L. (19-?); Brown, James McCredie (19-?); Bulkley, C.S. (1865-1867); Byron-May Company (1910-1914); Callihoo, Victoria (around 1948); Campbell, Colin Nicol (April 4, 1887); Canadian Club, Edmonton (1909-1912); Canadian Medical Association (August 1912); Carpenter, W.G. (April 8, 1927); Civil Service Association of Alberta (1955-1956); College of Physicians and Surgeons of Alberta (1924); Denny, Sir Cecil Edward (around 1905); Devore, R.W. (19-?); East Clover Bar Alberta Farmers' Association (1906-1912); Edmonds, W

Legislature Library Archives Program
Norine J. Lauder fonds
PR1898 · Fonds · [ca.1900], Copied 1974-1978

The fonds consists of portrait images of James Lauder and Hannah Lauder, an image of a group in front of Jasper House in Edmonton in 1891, an image of the Lauder Bakery in 1891, a photograph of Dr. H.C. Wilson, the first Speaker of the Legislative Assembly ca. 1900, a photograph of Dr. H.L. McInnis ca. 1900, and a photograph of R.B. Bennett ca. 1900.

Lauder, Norine J.