Series - Premier's Office operational records

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Premier's Office operational records

General material designation

    Parallel title

    Other title information

    Title statements of responsibility

    Title notes

    • Source of title proper: Title based on the contents of the series.

    Level of description


    Reference code

    Edition area

    Edition statement

    Edition statement of responsibility

    Class of material specific details area

    Statement of scale (cartographic)

    Statement of projection (cartographic)

    Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

    Statement of scale (architectural)

    Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

    Dates of creation area


    • 1992-2015 (Creation)

    Physical description area

    Physical description

    287.59 m of textual records
    0.30 m of videorecordings

    Publisher's series area

    Title proper of publisher's series

    Parallel titles of publisher's series

    Other title information of publisher's series

    Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

    Numbering within publisher's series

    Note on publisher's series

    Archival description area

    Name of creator


    Administrative history

    Lieutenant Governor George H.V. Bulyea appointed Alberta’s first Premier, Alexander Cameron Rutherford, on September 9, 1905.

    No provision is made for the Office of the Premier in An Act to establish and provide for the Government of the Province of Alberta, more commonly known as The Alberta Act, which came into force September 1, 1905 (SC 1905, c. 3). The position of Premier is in many respects more a matter of convention and tradition. The leader of the political party holding the majority in the Legislative Assembly is designated Premier by the Lieutenant Governor. The Premier acts as the Chair of the Executive Council or provincial cabinet.

    Names of Chief Officers:
    Alexander C. Rutherford, 1905-1910
    Arthur L. Sifton, 1910-1917
    Charles Stewart, 1917-1921
    Herbert Greenfield, 1921-1925
    John E. Brownlee, 1925-1934
    Richard G. Reid, 1934-1935
    William Aberhart, 1935-1943
    Ernest C. Manning, 1943-1968
    Harry E. Strom, 1968-1971
    E. Peter Lougheed, 1971-1985
    Donald R. Getty, 1985-1992
    Ralph P. Klein, 1992-2006
    Edward M. Stelmach, 2006-2011
    Alison Redford, 2011-2014
    Dave Hancock, 2014
    James Prentice, 2014-2015
    Rachel Notley, 2015-2019
    Jason Kenney, 2019-2022
    Danielle Smith, 2022-

    Custodial history

    Scope and content

    The series consists of files generated by the activities of Ralph Klein, Edward Stelmach, Alison Redford, Dave Hancock and Jim Prentice during their terms of office as Premier of Alberta. The files include correspondence, reports, legislation lists, recommendations, minutes of meetings, orders-in-council, cabinet documents, and other related records.

    Notes area

    Physical condition

    Immediate source of acquisition


    The records were acquired through records schedules 2002/041, 2004/021 and 2012/010.

    Language of material

      Script of material

        Location of originals

        Availability of other formats

        Restrictions on access

        Subject to the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act.

        Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

        Subject to the Copyright Act. Permission for use required.

        Finding aids

        Some finding aids are available.

        Associated materials


        Further accruals are expected.

        General note

        Includes accessions GR2006.0587, GR2008.0031, GR2011.0559, GR2011.0561, GR2012.0471, GR2016.1023, GR2016.1024, GR2016.1025, GR2016.1027, GR2016.1028, GR2016.1029, GR2018.1156 and GR2019.0137.

        Alternative identifier(s)

        Standard number

        Standard number

        Access points

        Subject access points

        Place access points

        Name access points

        Genre access points

        Control area

        Description record identifier

        Institution identifier


        Rules or conventions


        Level of detail

        Dates of creation, revision and deletion

        Language of description

          Script of description


            The scope and content is based on an examination of the records.

            Accession area